Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Old 10-24-2018, 07:18 PM   #1
TippetsTX

Default TFT Campaign Ideas

So what is everyone's plans for their kick-off campaign setting? I know some of you have been running TFT for quite awhile but its been a 30+ year hiatus for me. Since the return of TFT was announced, however, I've been thinking a lot about running a metropolitan city-based fantasy campaign because I've never done that before. I've used cities in other games of course, but never as the primary setting.

This got me thinking about Monte Cook's Ptolus setting... I've always wanted to run it, but never did because we were always playing on Faerun (D&D) or Golarian (Pathfinder), occasionally the Lost Lands (Frog God Games). I think it would be easy to adapt since the vast majority of the material is system-agnostic. It also seems like the tone would fit TFT quite well.
Old 10-24-2018, 08:14 PM   #2
larsdangly

Default Re: TFT Campaign Ideas

I'm a month or so into a fresh campaign set in an old TFT setting of mine that I started re-organizing and expanding last summer. The basic idea is a sprawling, complex city of many districts, under which is a complex of sewers and interconnected dungeons of roughly 1000 rooms in size, and a nearby volcanic plateau that entombs a cyclopean ruin of a very ancient city, with a surface decorated by several dozen small dungeons, forts, etc. created by the nasties that now live in the desolate landscape. Plus a few other details. It is basically a massively complicated sandbox. Most of our sessions start without a plan, other than continuing whatever nonsense the players were up to the session before. It's been a glorious few weeks so far; just a lot of fun.
larsdangly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 08:23 PM   #3
TippetsTX

Quote: