Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2019, 05:15 PM   #1
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Nicho sai

A Fencer with two Main-Gauche wielded does a double parry.

A Myrmidon standing in front of the Fencer attempts to strike the fencer with a broadsword.

What happens?
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 06:15 PM   #2
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Nicho sai

It depends on what you mean by 'double parry'. If you mean the thing where you use two weapons talent to parry then I guess the answer would be roll the attack on 4d and 4 pts of protection (as per two weapon talent) plus -1 to hit (as per fencing talent)
larsdangly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 10:31 AM   #3
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Nicho sai

Plus each MG stops one hit innately, for a total of six hits stopped?
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 09:10 AM   #4
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Nicho sai

No; I would not add the 'shield-like' and 'weapon-like' armor bonuses. This is similar to a discussion we had some months ago about using shields as weapons in the two-weapon talent. If you allowed this sort of double-dipping, the end result is obnoxiously goofy: Two tower shields, Shield Expertise talent + double parry using two weapons talent = 12 points of protection. I think this is just another example where the author did not bother to write a paragraph explaining that the intent is not that we hack the rules to produce a lot of nonsense.
larsdangly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 10:59 AM   #5
Chris Rice
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: London Uk, but originally from Scotland
Default Re: Nicho sai

Quote:
Originally Posted by larsdangly View Post
I think this is just another example where the author did not bother to write a paragraph explaining that the intent is not that we hack the rules to produce a lot of nonsense.
Well said.
Chris Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 12:48 PM   #6
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Nicho sai

So when does the MG provide any benefit at all over the cheaper lighter throwing knife? (Actual medieval daggers intended for any type of extended wielded use weigh at least half a pound while actual MG were around a pound).
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 01:45 PM   #7
Chris Rice
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: London Uk, but originally from Scotland
Default Re: Nicho sai

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
So when does the MG provide any benefit at all over the cheaper lighter throwing knife? (Actual medieval daggers intended for any type of extended wielded use weigh at least half a pound while actual MG were around a pound).
Good point, which is why I only allow the defensive bonus for the Main Gauche, not the dagger. The design of the MG is specific to this use whereas the dagger is not so designed. And I know the rules don't say that.
Chris Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.