Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2019, 09:24 AM   #1
johndallman
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Default [Powers] Putting multiple abilities into an Alternative Ability slot

A character in my Infinite Cabal campaign who uses psionics, rather than magic, has been feeling rather outdone by the magicians recently. However, if the party succeed in their current attempt to climb Mount Olympus in the world of Orichalcum (Infinite Worlds, pp. 139-40), he is likely to get a chance to re-arrange his abilities and bend the usual limits a bit. He's using abilities from Psionic Powers at present.

He has [80] in Jumper, which is a good baseline for a large Alternative Ability, although it isn't part of one at present. He also has TK Bullet and TK Grab as Alternative Abilities of each other. and Telesend and Telerecieve, which are both standalone.

I've had the idea of making both TK Bullet and TK Grab into a single AA slot. Both would be usable at the same time. In the same way, Telesend and Telerecieve could be a single slot, both being usable at the same time.

Is this permissible? I can't find anything about this in my rules collection, and it's an unusual situation, caused by the campaign history.
johndallman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 09:38 AM   #2
Dragondog
Never Been Pretty
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Default Re: [Powers] Putting multiple abilities into an Alternative Ability slot

If TK Bullet and TK Grab aren't related to the others, you'd have to pay full cost for both of them. If you on the other hand place all of them into one power and pay for the two most expensive powers in the set, you can use two powers at the same time. This could be TK Bullet and TK Grab or any of the two powers in the set.
__________________
Daydreams of a Dragon: My blog
Dragondog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 09:42 AM   #3
Refplace
 
Refplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yukon, OK
Default Re: [Powers] Putting multiple abilities into an Alternative Ability slot

Nothing wrong with I know of. I do it myself and allow it in my games.
Not much use to doing it with multiple attack powers since without another advantage (Extra Attack, CM or ATR) you get only one attack and switching between attacks is a Free Action.
__________________
Looking for group in my area
My GURPS official contributions Buying them lets us know you want more!
My GURPS fan contribution and blog:
REFPLace GURPS Landing Page
My List of GURPS You Tube videos (plus a few other useful items)
My GURPS Wiki entries
Refplace is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 11:06 AM   #4
RogerBW
 
RogerBW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: near London, UK
Default Re: [Powers] Putting multiple abilities into an Alternative Ability slot

I find it aesthetically unappealing, but I don't think it's expressly forbidden. I do like Dragondog's answer of paying for the most expensive two, and then being able to use any two.
RogerBW is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 12:21 PM   #5
Aldric
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Default Re: [Powers] Putting multiple abilities into an Alternative Ability slot

That's the sorcery solution.
Aldric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 12:48 PM   #6
ericthered
Hero of Democracy
 
ericthered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far from the ocean
Default Re: [Powers] Putting multiple abilities into an Alternative Ability slot

I don't know of any place where it says it specifically, but generally its something I both allow in my games and encourage. It gets especially fun with leveled abilities, and I think it really helps the powers system compete with some of the other magic systems out there.
__________________
Be helpful, not pedantic

Worlds Beyond Earth -- my blog

Now recruiting in PbP forum!
ericthered is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 01:01 PM   #7
Christopher R. Rice
 
Christopher R. Rice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Portsmouth, VA, USA
Default Re: [Powers] Putting multiple abilities into an Alternative Ability slot

Quote:
Originally Posted by johndallman View Post
A character in my Infinite Cabal campaign who uses psionics, rather than magic, has been feeling rather outdone by the magicians recently. However, if the party succeed in their current attempt to climb Mount Olympus in the world of Orichalcum (Infinite Worlds, pp. 139-40), he is likely to get a chance to re-arrange his abilities and bend the usual limits a bit. He's using abilities from Psionic Powers at present.

He has [80] in Jumper, which is a good baseline for a large Alternative Ability, although it isn't part of one at present. He also has TK Bullet and TK Grab as Alternative Abilities of each other. and Telesend and Telerecieve, which are both standalone.

I've had the idea of making both TK Bullet and TK Grab into a single AA slot. Both would be usable at the same time. In the same way, Telesend and Telerecieve could be a single slot, both being usable at the same time.

Is this permissible? I can't find anything about this in my rules collection, and it's an unusual situation, caused by the campaign history.
Absolutely. There is nothing in the rules saying you cannot have multiple AAs. In my AEON campaign I require them. Each power has a offensive, defensive, and utility/movement power chain. So supers can use an attack power, a defending power, and a utility power all at once.
__________________
My Twitter
My w23 Stuff
My Blog

Latest GURPS Book: Monster Hunters Power Ups 1
Latest TFT Book: Crown of Eternity

Become a Patron!
Christopher R. Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 01:14 PM   #8
RogerBW
 
RogerBW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: near London, UK
Default Re: [Powers] Putting multiple abilities into an Alternative Ability slot

I think possibly there's some confusion in what's being proposed.

It's not:

AA#1 (power A) or (power B) or (power C)
plus
AA#2 (power D) or (power E) or (power F)

as Christopher described. Rather, it's

AA (power A) or (power B) or (power C + power D)

where C and D are distinct abilities, collectively of lower cost than A, which may but need not be used at the same time. Using either or both of them would lock out A and B until the use of C and/or D stops.

On reflection I see why I found it aesthetically unappealing - modulo rounding errors, it costs the same as having each power in a separate slot, but it's better.
RogerBW is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 01:18 PM   #9
Christopher R. Rice
 
Christopher R. Rice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Portsmouth, VA, USA
Default Re: [Powers] Putting multiple abilities into an Alternative Ability slot

Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerBW View Post
I think possibly there's some confusion in what's being proposed.

It's not:

AA#1 (power A) or (power B) or (power C)
plus
AA#2 (power D) or (power E) or (power F)

as Christopher described. Rather, it's

AA (power A) or (power B) or (power C + power D)

where C and D are distinct abilities, collectively of lower cost than A, which may but need not be used at the same time. Using either or both of them would lock out A and B until the use of C and/or D stops.

On reflection I see why I found it aesthetically unappealing - modulo rounding errors, it costs the same as having each power in a separate slot, but it's better.
Ahhh. I see. Yeah, so I do that too. Some abilities require multiple advantages. I call that a feature and move on. It's worked fine for AEON so far. Do note (which is probably obvious) you can't have nested AAs.
__________________
My Twitter
My w23 Stuff
My Blog

Latest GURPS Book: Monster Hunters Power Ups 1
Latest TFT Book: Crown of Eternity

Become a Patron!
Christopher R. Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 01:33 PM   #10
ericthered
Hero of Democracy
 
ericthered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far from the ocean
Default Re: [Powers] Putting multiple abilities into an Alternative Ability slot

I actually run (as a house rule, I suppose) a variant that rejects the idea of slots all together:

Purchase
A [20]
B [15/5 =3]
C [10/5=2]
D [10/5=2]
E [5/5=1]
F [5/5=1]
G [5/5=1]
H [5/5=1]

I then allow as an ready action the player to switch between any combination of abilities adding up to [20]. B and G, B and H, B and E are all valid, as is C and D or C,E, and H.

Its "permissive", yes, but I find that it is less of a headache than tracking slots and mimics the repertoire of a "power" better than using slots.
__________________
Be helpful, not pedantic

Worlds Beyond Earth -- my blog

Now recruiting in PbP forum!
ericthered is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
alternate abilities, powers, psionic powers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.