Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 03-29-2023, 08:08 AM   #1
Nedorus

Default DR Hardened Beyond Divisor (1)

I was wondering whether Hardened would have any effect on an attack's armor divisor beyond (1).
i.e. Lets assume "Hardened 2".
  1. Would an attack without armor divisor (1) be further reduce to (0.2)?
  2. Would an attack with armor divisor (2) be further reduced to (0.5)?

B47 states the "levels" to be “ignores DR,” 100, 10, 5, 3, 2, and 1 (no divisor). So RAW this seems not to be the case. However the further levels (fractional divisors) clearly exist (e.g. B268).

Even though this is a yes/no question, I'd also like to understand "the reasoning" behind the rule to make an educated decision whether I want to "house rule" this and what the consequences would be (I'm not good at munchkining so often I don't see interactions with other rules that may "break the game" when house ruling)
Nedorus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2023, 08:23 AM   #2
zoncxs

Default Re: DR Hardened Beyond Divisor (1)

Harden negates armor divisors.

So, with your example of harden 2 and assume the attack does 4 points of damage:

1. An attack with no armor divisor (1) would do normal damage of 4 points.

2. An attack with armor divisor (2) would do normal damage too because the harden level of 2 negates it.

3. An attack with armor divisor (4) would do twice the damage (8 points) because the harden level of 2 divides the armor divisor by 2 (4/2=2).

4. An attack with armor divisor (0.5) would do half the damage (2 points) only because harden is only for negating an armor divisor greater than 1.
zoncxs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2023, 09:00 AM   #3
RyanW

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nedorus View Post