Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2014, 07:16 PM   #1
Dilla
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default One shot items:play vs use during any combat

My friend and I are having a long standing discussion on one-shot items.

He believes that an one-shot item cannot be played to the table as a carried item if the card states "play during any combat." He references from the rules under Items-Playing Them: "Any Item card may be played to the table as soon as you get it, or at any time on your own turn other than in combat (unless the card itself says otherwise)."

For example, the Transferral Potion states "play during any combat" meaning to him that you can't play it to the table and carry it because the card is restricting play only to combat (and during combat you can't play a card to the table). In effect, you can never carry this card. If the card said, "use during any combat", he argues it's not restricting when it can be played to the table (ie. most potions like Freezing Explosive Potion).

I argue on the other hand that "play" and "use" are synonymous and that both of these cards can be played to the table and carried.

Thanks for the help.
Dilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 07:32 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: One shot items:play vs use during any combat

Items are Items, regardless of whether they are one-shot Items or not. They may always be played to the table, assuming you aren't restricted from having the given type of Item in play (say, from the effects of a Curse!, or maybe a second Big Item).

However, some rules quotes that are relevant:

The text you quoted, that you're friend uses to make his argument clearly contradicts his argument, since it says "Any Item," not "Any Item except combat-oriented one-shot Items."

"You may carry any number of small items[.]" Notice no restriction on one-shot Items that can only be used during combat.

"Any one-shot Item can by played during any combat, whether you have it in your hand or on the table." "One-shot items, such as potions, may be played directly from your hand during combat. You can also use one-shot items that you already had in play." The sections of text I emphasized are pretty much the smoking guns that killed the argument that combat-oriented one-shot Items can't be played to the table.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 10:25 PM   #3
Dilla
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default Re: One shot items:play vs use during any combat

Wow quickest response ever!

Thanks a lot!
Dilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.