Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2013, 08:10 PM   #1
fugazi
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default Munchkin Hireling

I have the need for steed expansion, how can a hireling be killed?

I just started playing this expansion after some years of not playing and it came up

thx
fugazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 08:19 PM   #2
tremorlaine
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Re: Munchkin Hireling

There is a Kill Hireling GUAL (Go Up A Level). Otherwise there might be Curses or Bad Stuff that kills a hireling.
__________________
Current wins via Divine Intervention - 3

Future site of Griffon Gaming
tremorlaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 09:44 PM   #3
StormCrow42
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Concord, NC
Default Re: Munchkin Hireling

The rule sheet that comes with Need for Steed has comprehensive rules for when you can play and what you can do with Hirelings.
__________________
Scott K. Ellis
StormCrow42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 08:31 PM   #4
fugazi
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default Re: Munchkin Hireling

I saw the rules but I didn't see how a hireling can die and you loot the gear. Say that I die in combat, normally all the 'friends' loot my corpse and i go back to lvl 1 and get my new cards. Does that mean i can loot my hireling after that?
fugazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 08:39 PM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Munchkin Hireling

You don't go back to Level 1 when you die. I'd really like to know where this idea comes from, because it's definitely not in the rulesheet -- in fact, the rules are clear that you keep your Level.

Your Hireling can be looted like any other card if you die. If no one loots it from your corpse, then you discard it.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 10:52 PM   #6
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Munchkin Hireling

It seems like you're asking about why there is the clause about Hirelings dying in the rules that states you then loot their corpse and keep the Item, fugazi.

As tremorlaine stated, there are some cards in most sets that can kill a Hireling. They are usually Go Up a Level cards with a special condition that a Hireling is present somewhere on the table and you must discard a Hireling to use the card. That would be a case of your Hireling dying and you getting to loot their corpse. Your own Death does not mean your Hireling is dying, so you use the standard Death rules.

Also note that some Hirelings override those Hireling rules. For example, the Hireling from Munchkin and Munchkin 3 says you lose any Item the Hireling is carrying if you lose the Hireling. You wouldn't be able to loot those ones if Kill The Hireling was used, but you would be able to loot the Item off a Warrior Hireling if Kill The Hireling was used on it due to the rule.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 06-10-2013 at 10:58 PM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.