Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2013, 05:01 AM   #1
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Random Axe of Kindness

should it be certainly 2 players in the combat to give this +3 bonus, or I can use it anyway?
What happens if I will join this fight later?
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:16 AM   #2
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Random Axe of Kindness

The card does not specify the Munchkin in combat must have a helper, so you could give a solitary munchkin this bonus. I am not sure what would happen if you were invited to help after giving such a bonus. I would assume the bonus would stay, since you already paid the discard to give it, and the card does not specify the bonus would be cancelled if you help after the fact.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:12 AM   #3
six's monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Default Re: Random Axe of Kindness

I made a convincing argument in my group that an Elf tossing the Axe into someone else's combat had 'helped' them, and that therefore the Elf had earned a level.
This seems more than a little stinky, but so are many other valid plays.
six's monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:30 AM   #4
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Random Axe of Kindness

Quote:
Originally Posted by six's monkey View Post
I made a convincing argument in my group that an Elf tossing the Axe into someone else's combat had 'helped' them, and that therefore the Elf had earned a level.
This seems more than a little stinky, but so are many other valid plays.
This is not a valid play, though. 'Help' and the 'helper' are very specific game terms, as defined in the 'Asking For Help' section of the rules. You only get the level as an Elf if you join the combat as the helper and subsequently kill a monster.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 06:07 AM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Random Axe of Kindness

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
This is not a valid play, though. 'Help' and the 'helper' are very specific game terms, as defined in the 'Asking For Help' section of the rules. You only get the level as an Elf if you join the combat as the helper and subsequently kill a monster.
Correct. There is no way to consider that a "valid play."
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.