Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2014, 03:28 PM   #1
Raekai
World's Worst Detective
 
Raekai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bloomington, Indiana
Default Quick Question: Using Neutralize for Power Defense?

Hey, all!

If Neutralize can knock out a power, then could we reasonably say that a Power Defense with Neutralize will successfully negate the attack? Bob shoots a fire blast at me. Nuh uh, Bob. I successfully use a Power Defense and neutralize that attack. Does that sound right? I think it fits with the idea of using it as interruption as per the relevant limitation. If not, then how can I make it work?

Thanks.
Raekai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 03:41 PM   #2
Nereidalbel
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Default Re: Quick Question: Using Neutralize for Power Defense?

Doubtful. Once the fire blast is launched, it's too late to stop it by shutting down his power. The only way for Neutralize to stop an attack is one that either takes more than a second to activate, or one that requires ongoing effort, such as a sustained flamethrower.
Nereidalbel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 03:49 PM   #3
aesir23
 
aesir23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vermont
Default Re: Quick Question: Using Neutralize for Power Defense?

Hmmm...I think you might have a reasonable case that Neutralize meets the requirement of "Opposed Power" for a Power Block.

It's a tough call, though, and depends a lot on your GMs general approach to these things and the campaign assumptions.

Powers says, after all, that in a world with "Comic Book Physics" any power can parry any other power.
aesir23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 03:52 PM   #4
Ji ji
 
Ji ji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Quick Question: Using Neutralize for Power Defense?

This is Neutralize (ranged, +40%; reflexive, +40%) [90].
Ji ji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 03:58 PM   #5
Anthony
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Berkeley, CA
Default Re: Quick Question: Using Neutralize for Power Defense?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raekai View Post
If Neutralize can knock out a power, then could we reasonably say that a Power Defense with Neutralize will successfully negate the attack?
It's going to depend somewhat on the details of the power, as it's possible that the attack is an aftereffect of the effect that can be neutralized (e.g. using TK to throw rocks -- you can disrupt the TK, but once the rock is moving, disrupting the TK won't cause it to stop), but assuming an appropriate interaction, yes, neutralize should be usable as a power defense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raekai View Post
Bob shoots a fire blast at me. Nuh uh, Bob. I successfully use a Power Defense and neutralize that attack. Does that sound right?
Depends on when the source limitation applies.
__________________
My GURPS site and Blog.
Anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 04:38 PM   #6
aesir23
 
aesir23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vermont
Default Re: Quick Question: Using Neutralize for Power Defense?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ji ji View Post
This is Neutralize (ranged, +40%; reflexive, +40%) [90].
Doesn't Relexive, by definition, mean that you can use this ability as an active defense?
aesir23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 05:11 PM   #7
Nereidalbel
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Default Re: Quick Question: Using Neutralize for Power Defense?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aesir23 View Post
Doesn't Relexive, by definition, mean that you can use this ability as an active defense?
No. Reflexive allows normal use, but, the ability can turn itself on/off as well.
Nereidalbel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 05:44 PM   #8
Ji ji
 
Ji ji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Quick Question: Using Neutralize for Power Defense?

Reflexive allows a Power Defense, as stated in Powers. So you certanly can use it for an active defense (you are not even required to be aware of the incoming menace).

But this doesn't limit Reflexive to active defense. It functions for switchable senses, too; its nature is switching on an advantage in response to external condition or actions. So it seems to me the right modifier for a form of Neutralize intended to counter an attack. I think that a ranged Neutralize fits with the definition "anything the GM feels serves a purpose similar to [defenses or senses]."
Ji ji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 08:35 PM   #9
sir_pudding
Wielder of Smart Pants
 
sir_pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ventura CA
Default Re: Quick Question: Using Neutralize for Power Defense?

Power Defenses are a kind of Beneficial Option. Not every Power gets them and they can be like limited or resrtricted however the GM chooses for that specific power.
sir_pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
interruption, neutralize, parry, power, power defense

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.