Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin Collectible Card Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2019, 12:57 PM   #1
Majobasil
 
Majobasil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: West Virginia, USA
Default Card again sweater

Can you zap and discard any amount of cards? Or can you only discard equal to or less than the amount of damage you’re trying to prevent?

You may wonder why would anyone want to discard more than they need to: hot poker.
Majobasil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 01:16 PM   #2
Malkavman
 
Malkavman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Topeka, KS
Default Re: Card again sweater

From The rules:
Quote:
Prevent
Applies to damage only. Prevent an amount of damage as specified by an ability. If less damage is dealt/taken than the amount being prevented, prevent all damage dealt/taken (in this case, only the amount of damage that was dealt/taken is prevented). Damage prevention is an interrupt.
Since the card-Again Sweater has no Maximum number of discards allowed once the card is zapped, the play should be legal.

(This means I can totally discard 13 cards to prevent 6 damage from a Toll Dragon, Matt) (hehe)
__________________
-Brandon Murphy
MiB 0787

"I wouldn't even take a whiz on this! I used to DREAM of taking a whiz on this!" - The Monarch
Malkavman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 01:34 PM   #3
Majobasil
 
Majobasil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: West Virginia, USA
Default Re: Card again sweater

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malkavman View Post
From The rules:


Since the card-Again Sweater has no Maximum number of discards allowed once the card is zapped, the play should be legal.

(This means I can totally discard 13 cards to prevent 6 damage from a Toll Dragon, Matt) (hehe)

Iím not giving up on this one! The pain of getting you to 17 then you doing 20 in one turn has left a bad taste in my mouth :-).

What it comes down to is the intent of the card (again sweater) itself. Was the intent to allow the discarding of as many cards as possible, or was the intent only to discard equal to or less then the damage one is attempting to prevent.
Majobasil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 12:59 PM   #4
Malkavman
 
Malkavman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Topeka, KS
Default Re: Card again sweater

I have further evidence:
The Card again Sweater has 3 distinct steps:
1 - Zap(This activates the card)
2 - Discard X cards(this now gives it the ability to prevent a maximum of X damage, where X is the number of cards discarded)
3 - Prevent up to, but not exceeding, X damage(As per determined value X above)

So, as per the rule for Prevent, this is a perfectly valid move.

And the point of the card, as with all cards in the game, is to be munchkinly, and this was a very munchkinly, but legal, play.

(And to anyone reading this thinking we are actually mad at each other while arguing this point, we are not. This is a spirited debate that I'm sure we are both smiling widely while typing. There is zero animosity here, Mods.)
__________________
-Brandon Murphy
MiB 0787

"I wouldn't even take a whiz on this! I used to DREAM of taking a whiz on this!" - The Monarch
Malkavman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 06:55 PM   #5
Majobasil
 
Majobasil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: West Virginia, USA
Default Re: Card again sweater

Ha, yes indeed. We need to know because we play so often (I like to think more than anyone else out there) and rules clarifications are important for our meta game!
Majobasil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 10:53 AM   #6
Aleph
Administrator
 
Aleph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Central Network
Default Re: Card again sweater

The cost (Discard X Cards) is not limited by the actual damage done in this case. Prevent in the rules does allow for scenarios where more damage is prevented than is being dealt.
Aleph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 06:13 PM   #7
Majobasil
 
Majobasil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: West Virginia, USA
Default Re: Card again sweater

Thanks Aleph!
Majobasil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 07:43 PM   #8
Malkavman
 
Malkavman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Topeka, KS
Default Re: Card again sweater

*does a dance* My strategy is perfectly legal and awesome!
__________________
-Brandon Murphy
MiB 0787

"I wouldn't even take a whiz on this! I used to DREAM of taking a whiz on this!" - The Monarch
Malkavman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 05:00 AM   #9
Majobasil
 
Majobasil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: West Virginia, USA
Default Re: Card again sweater

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malkavman View Post
*does a dance* My strategy is perfectly legal and awesome!
lol well played!!
Majobasil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.