Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin Collectible Card Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2018, 02:16 PM   #1
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Rear Deflector

When and how can I use its ability?
a) Only then my hero take damage directly, and I can prevent it
b) Then my Ally take damage, and I can't prevent it (because it's not damage to my Hero)
c) Then my Ally take damage, and I can prevent it

variant c is usles, but according wording on card
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 02:19 PM   #2
Devin Lewis
Munchkin CCG Designer
 
Devin Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin
Default Re: Rear Deflector

Rear Deflector can only be used when a Monster has done damage to your Hero.

You Zap it and it prevents 1 damage to your hero and does 1 damage to the Monster that has damaged your Hero.
__________________
Devin Lewis || Munchkin CCG Designer, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin
Devin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 11:49 PM   #3
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Rear Deflector

Because "damege to you" = "damage to your hero", right?
Because "you" = "you hero"?
OK
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 05:18 AM   #4
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Rear Deflector

Well, Avenging Apostle also says "you take damage". Its ability trigged only then Hero take damage? Then what is the point of this Ally? (sorry, this is not about card in the title, but about similar wording)
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 10:26 AM   #5
MIB.6361
 
MIB.6361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, USA, Earth, Sol, Milky Way, Infinity.
Default Re: Rear Deflector

In my opinion/nitpick, it's something that probably should've been worded more consistently on all cards.

Instead of saying "the player" or "your opponent" or "you" take damage, it should always say "The Hero."
Saying "you" implies whomever is reading the card. Saying "the player" implies you're going to physically injure the person across the table from you.
__________________
Jessie/MIB 6361
Arizona Men in Black Cell Leader
MIB.6361 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.