Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Ogre and G.E.V.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2016, 07:48 PM   #1
Tim Kauffman
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Default INFANTRY in OGRE...

It states in the Rule Book p.8 that:
"A 3-squad counter is the equivalent of one armor unit for both stacking and victory points".

Now, does this literally mean that 1 3-squad infantry counter costs 1 AU?
...or is infantry always exclusively bought using strength points?
Could you state in a scenario a player gets 6 AU of infantry instead of stating 18 strength points? Does it matter, and if so, why.

For example, in the Mark 3 Attacks scenario, you get 21 strength points of infantry. I'm assuming strength points are used instead of AU because it's easier to track...but 1 3-squad infantry costs 1 AU, correct?

I ask because if so, this is usable when figuring what other units priced in AUs can be available in a scenario based on infantry AUs. values being used.
__________________
"So I stood my ground...my only hope to die as I had always lived-fighting" John Carter of Mars

Last edited by Tim Kauffman; 10-28-2016 at 09:06 PM.
Tim Kauffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 08:07 PM   #2
offsides
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cheltenham, PA
Default Re: INFANTRY in OGRE...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Kauffman View Post
It states in the Rule Book p.8 that:
"A 3-squad counter is the equivalent of one armor unit for both stacking and victory points".

Now, does this literally mean that 1 3-squad infantry counter costs 1 AU?
...or is infantry always exclusively bought using strength points?
Could you state in a scenario a player gets 6 AU of infantry instead of stating 18 strength points? Does it matter, and if so, why.

For example, in the Mark 3 Attacks scenario, you get 21 strength points of infantry. I'm assuming strength points are used instead of AU because it's easier to track...but 1 3-squad infantry costs 1 AU, correct?

I ask because if so, this is usable when figuring what other units priced in AUs can be available in a scenario based on infantry AUs. values being used.
I'm not 100% positive on this, and it may just be scenario-specific, but generally you can trade 1 AU of armor for 3 INF (or equivalent) to reduce your armor numbers, but not trade 3 INF for extra armor. That's why INF are specified separately.
__________________
Joshua Megerman, SJGames MIB #5273 - Ogre AI Testing Division
offsides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2016, 09:59 AM   #3
Deimos
 
Deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South Lyon, MI
Default Re: INFANTRY in OGRE...

Quote:
Originally Posted by offsides View Post
I'm not 100% positive on this, and it may just be scenario-specific, but generally you can trade 1 AU of armor for 3 INF (or equivalent) to reduce your armor numbers, but not trade 3 INF for extra armor. That's why INF are specified separately.
In our games, we've always treated them as trade-able in either direction. Then again, the most common scenario we've played has been Ceasefire Collapse, and I've not noticed any imbalances swapping out INF for AU.

It could make a difference in other scenarios, but not this one.
__________________
That which does not destroy me, makes me stronger. - Nietzsche
That which does not destroy me, missed. - Anonymous war gamer
Deimos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2016, 11:08 AM   #4
Mack_JB
 
Mack_JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Default Re: INFANTRY in OGRE...

I've always kept them separate, AU and INF points; it seems allowing easy trades would make it harder for balance issues.
Mack_JB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2016, 06:38 PM   #5
FJCestero
 
FJCestero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charleston SC, USA
Default Re: INFANTRY in OGRE...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mack_JB View Post
I've always kept them separate, AU and INF points; it seems allowing easy trades would make it harder for balance issues.
Probably the biggest reason for 'keeping them separate' and all the rest is because 3 Infantry aren't worth 6VP (in general). Try making 3 Infantry cost 4VP (or maybe 6 VPs gets you 4 Infantry?) and much of the 'pressure' to cash in Infantry VPs for Armor VPs goes away.

Personally, I put a 3-stack of Inf at about 60% of a Heavy Tank, usefulness-wise (that's 5 Inf per 6VPs...). YMMV.
FJCestero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 09:39 PM   #6
Tim Kauffman
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Default Re: INFANTRY in OGRE...

Thanks for the help.
__________________
"So I stood my ground...my only hope to die as I had always lived-fighting" John Carter of Mars
Tim Kauffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 04:09 AM   #7
Tim Kauffman
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Default Re: INFANTRY in OGRE...

All the Infantry related rules I could gather. "///" = the rule description continued, but did not concern Infantry.

3.02 Infantry (INF). Infantry wear powered "battlesuits" which greatly increase their mobility and provide some radiation and shrapnel protection. The scenario setups refer to infantry in terms of "squads." Each squad is 1 attack strength point, so a 3/1 infantry counter represents three squads. Infantry counters are 2/1 on one side, and either 1/1 or 3/1 on the other, for ease in splitting or recombining squads.

A 3-squad counter is the equivalent of one armor unit for both stacking and victory points. In the starting scenarios, no more than three squads of infantry (a 3/1 counter) can occupy one hex.

Note that the defense strength of each infantry counter is equal to the number of squads. Safety in numbers!

Most infantry are "regular" INF units. Specialist infantry, as described below, have extra cost and capabilities but otherwise perform as regular infantry.

All types of infantry can combine in groups of up to three squads for defensive purposes. Any two squads can defend together at D2, and any three squads can defend at D3. if an attacker gets a D result against a mixed stack of infantry, roll randomly to see which squad is lost. Page 8

5.02.1 Original map scenarios. In scenarios on the original Ogre map, units may not be stacked; that is, only one vehicle at a time, or maximum of three squads of infantry, may occupy each hex. (This limitation is for speed of play. if you try an Ogre map scenario with stacking, be sure to use spillover fire rules in section 7.12, too.)

5.02.2 G.E.V. map scenarios. When playing on the G.E.V. (green) maps, up to five vehicles on each side may occupy any hex at the end of any movement phase. Each single squad of infantry counts as 1/3 of a vehicle for stacking purposes; that is, a hex may hold 15 squads of infantry, or 12 squads of infantry and one vehicle, ect.

5.02.3 Combining infantry. Infantry are represented by counters for 1, 2, and 3 squads. For convenience, a larger infantry counter may be built up from smaller counters, or broken down into squads, at any time during the owning player's movement phase. These counters may move together or separately as long as no individual squad exceeds it's movement allowance. Infantry counters have different values on the front and back, for ease in "making change."

5.04 Ram and overrun attacks.When a player moves one or more units into a hex containing enemy units, a ram (Section 6) or overrun (Section 8) occurs immediately. If you are using the simpler ramming rules, you may not enter enter an enemy hex with a unit unless your unit is capable of ramming. For instance, infantry can't ram, so if you are using the ramming rules, infantry may not enter an enemy-occupied hex at all.

5.07.1 Road Bonus. Any unit which starts it's move on the road, stays on the road for the entire movement phase, and does not ram or overrun, gets a movement bonus of one additional hex. The unit does not have to move this additional hex-but, if it does, it must continue along the road. It may not use the additional hex to leave the road, ram, or overrun. GEVs and infantry, but no other units, may take the road bonus along rail hexes. Note: GEVs get road bonuses in other terrain; see 5.08.2. Page 11

5.08.1 Effects on infantry. Infantry normally have M2. They get the road movement bonus for both road and rail hexes. They can enter water hexes at a cost of 2 movement points, but cannot attack while in water. Infantry have no other terrain penalties; if they can legally enter a hex at all, it costs them only one movement point. Page 12

5.11 Infantry riding vehicles. Infantry may increase their speed by "hitching a ride" on vehicles. The infantry counts toward stacking limits (5.02).

5.11.1 Rideable vehicles. Infantry can ride the following vehicles:
* Heavy Tank (one squad)
* Light Tank (one squad)
* Superheavy Tank (two squads)
* GEV-PC (three squads)
* Truck (two squads)
* Hovertruck (two squads)

Infantry riding a Truck or Hovertruck are assumed to be riding inside, and cannot use their weapons until they dismount. Infantry on other vehicles may fire while riding.

It would be physically possible for an Ogre to carry a number of infantry squads equal to it's Size minus 3. unless specifically permitted in a scenario, you will not get the infantry to go along with that idea. (See Size rules, p. 14.)

5.11.2 Combat involving infantry riding vehicles. The vehicle and infantry may both fire normally. After all, the speeding vehicle is a stable firing platform, compared to what these infantry are used to.

If the vehicle + infantry combination is fired on, the attacker makes one die roll for each attack on the combination, but calculates the odds separately for the vehicle and all the infantry and applies the results separately. Example: A Howitzer fires on a Superheavy Tank carrying two squads of infantry. The die roll is a 3. The attack is a 3-to-1 on the two infantry (so a 3 eliminates both), but only a 1-to-1 on the Superheavy (so a 3 has no effect). This procedure is followed in both normal combat and overruns. Note that a tank will often survive a hit that kills it's riders, but even if the vehicle is a truck, the battlesuited riders may survive the hit that kills the vehicle.

5.11.3 Mount/dismount sequencing for infantry. To mount a vehicle, an infantry squad must spend it's entire movement for the turn. The vehicle may either start in the infantry's starting hex or pass through it. The vehicle moves normally on that turn.

Infantry may fire normally on the turns it mounts and dismounts. Page 13

6.06 Reducing infantry. An Ogre does not literally "ram" infantry, but any Ogre with AP weapons (or a SHVY) may move into an infantry hex as though the infantry were not there. If the Ogre/Superheavy has any antipersonnel weapons left, the infantry is automatically reduced by one squad. This does not count as an "attack" for the AP weapons. An Ogre/SHVY in a hex with infantry may expend a movement point, stay in the same hex, and reduce the infantry again. When all AP weapons are gone, an Ogre/SHVY can no longer reduce infantry in this way.

6.07 Ramming by other units. Usually a tactic of desperation! Note that infantry can never ram or be rammed. Page 14
__________________
"So I stood my ground...my only hope to die as I had always lived-fighting" John Carter of Mars

Last edited by Tim Kauffman; 10-29-2016 at 05:24 AM.
Tim Kauffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 04:11 AM   #8
Tim Kauffman
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Default Re: INFANTRY in OGRE...

7.05.1 AP weapons. Some units have antipersonnel weapons, effective only against infantry (including special infantry types) and D0 units such as a regular (unarmored) CP. A unit may not fire AP at the same infantry unit more than once per turn, but any number of AP weapons may be used for that single attack.

Note: Any weapon may be used against infantry. AP weapons are useless against anything except infantry, targets with defense of 0, and other targets as designated in scenarios.

7.07.1 Infantry may have multiple targets. Exception to 7.07: A 2-squad or 3-squad infantry counter may divide it's attack strength between targets, because each squad can fire separately. For instance, a 2/1 infantry could attack one GEV at 1to1, or two different GEVs at 1to2 each, or the same GEV twice at 1to2 each time. Infantry cannot divide itself into attack strengths other than whole numbers-no fractions.

7.10 Attack resolution. /// The intermediate result is a D. An infantry unit is immediately reduced by one squad.

7.11.1 Spillover CRT results. When spillover fire (7.12) occurs, each result on the CRT is "taken down" one step. A D result is read as a NE, and an X is read as a D. To affect a unit with a spillover, you must roll an X-and then it counts as only a D.

7.11.2 Overrun CRT results. When an overrun attack (Section 8) occurs, treat any D or X result to non-Ogre units as an X. ///

7.12 Attacks on stacked units: spillover fire. When units are stacked (that is, when more than one counter is placed in the same hex) they may be attacked as follows: The attacking player declares one of the counters to be the "target" of the attack. The attack on the target is resolved normally. Each other unit counter in the hex then then immediately suffers an attack on the target; this represents "spillover fire" and blast effect. When a unit suffers spillover fire, all combat results from the CRT are reduced in effect: An X on the CRT is treated as a D, and a D is treated as NE. Thus the only unit that can be eliminated in one spillover attack is a single squad of infantry. However, a unit can be disabled in a spillover attack (X result, treated as D) and then destroyed by the same result in a second spillover fire.
Example: A Heavy Tank, Missile tank, and squad of infantry are in the same hex. the hex is fired on by a Howitzer (attack strength 6); the Heavy is the target. It's defense is 3, so it suffers a 2-to-1 attack. At the same time, the other two units in the hex each suffer a half-strength (that is, attack strength 3) spillover attack-which would be a 1-to-1 on the Missile Tank and a 3-to-1 on the infantry. Each of the attacks is resolved with a separate die roll.

7.12.1 Attacks on stacked infantry units. The first time a stack is attacked during a fire phase, the defender determines how it's infantry are grouped, with up to 3 squads per group. For instance, 5 squads could be treated as a 3 and a 2, or as a 2, 2, and 1, or as five 1s...ect. The attacker then chooses the target. The other units or groups are subject to spillover fire. In an overrun attack (8.00), though, each squad is always a separate unit.

7.12.2 Units affected by spillover fire. All units (friendly or enemy) in a hex are affected by spillover fire, except: (a) a unit's own fire does not spillover into it, and no spillover fire is calculated in an overrun; (b) separate spillover fire is not calculated for a tank and the infantry riding it (Section 5.11.2), and (c) /// Page 16

7.14 Forest, swamp and rubble. Forest, swamp, and rubble hexes double the defense strength of infantry. /// Page 17

8.04 Resolving an overrun attack. When an overrun takes place, all units in that hex (on both sides) are removed to a spot beside the board and all infantry units are divided into 1-squad counters. Combat will take place between those units only until only one player has units left.

Overrun combat is resolved in "fire rounds". The defender has the first fire round. Each of his units from that hex (including disabled ones) fires once. Any attacker receiving either a D or X result is removed. Surviving attackers (including any disabled due to terrain when entering the hex) may then return fire again...and so on until all units on one side are gone.

Note: Spillover fire is not calculated in an overrun, because shots at close range will be better aimed. However, these well-aimed shots mean that units receiving a D result during an overrun are considered destroyed, instead of just disabled.

Units can combine fire, or fire in succession on one target, just as in a regular attack, as long as no unit fires more than once per fire round.

8.05.2 Ogre ramming during overruns. An Ogre may ram any enemy unit (except infantry) at the end of it's first fire round. ///

8.07 Infantry mounted on vehicles. Infantry riding on vehicles may dismount at the beginning of the overrun. They cannot remount after the combat. Those who do not dismount will be attacked in one die roll against their vehicle (see 5.11.2). Infantry within vehicles (Trucks, Hovertrucks) do not dismount, cannot fight in the overrun, and are subject to 5.11.2. Page18
__________________
"So I stood my ground...my only hope to die as I had always lived-fighting" John Carter of Mars

Last edited by Tim Kauffman; 10-29-2016 at 05:24 AM.
Tim Kauffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 12:47 PM   #9
sir_pudding
Wielder of Smart Pants
 
sir_pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ventura CA
Default Re: INFANTRY in OGRE...

Tim, can you spoiler-collapse those? I am finding literally every thread you post in nearly impossible to read on mobile.
sir_pudding is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 08:32 PM   #10
Tim Kauffman
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Default Re: INFANTRY in OGRE...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sir_pudding View Post
Tim, can you spoiler-collapse those? I am finding literally every thread you post in nearly impossible to read on mobile.
Spoiler:  
__________________
"So I stood my ground...my only hope to die as I had always lived-fighting" John Carter of Mars
Tim Kauffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.