Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin Collectible Card Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2018, 12:57 PM   #1
remitos
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Default amulet of ridiculous power and blood geyser

would blood geyser trigger the amulet of ridiculous power with it's give blood ability?

amulet of ridiculous power : When you play a Mischief that deals damage, this deals 1 damage to target Ally or Monster.

blood geyser: Draw 2 cards.
Give Blood 1 (When you play this, you may also take 1 damage to activate this ability.) - Reduce the gold cost of this by 2 gold.

thanks in advance for the help or clarifications
remitos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2018, 01:28 PM   #2
Devin Lewis
 
Devin Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin
Default Re: amulet of ridiculous power and blood geyser

That's a good question. The card itself isn't dealing damage. In this case you're taking the damage to activate the ability.

It is certainly a fine line.
__________________
Devin Lewis || Munchkin CCG Designer, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin
Devin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 03:28 PM   #3
my6AM3RTA6
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Default Re: amulet of ridiculous power and blood geyser

Quote:
Originally Posted by remitos View Post
would blood geyser trigger the amulet of ridiculous power with it's give blood ability?

amulet of ridiculous power : When you play a Mischief that deals damage, this deals 1 damage to target Ally or Monster.

blood geyser: Draw 2 cards.
Give Blood 1 (When you play this, you may also take 1 damage to activate this ability.) - Reduce the gold cost of this by 2 gold.

thanks in advance for the help or clarifications
I agree with Devin that it is a fine line... however, I have been playing the hell out of this game and think I have gained a pretty decent understanding of the intent of some key words SJG has used. For example, Blood Geyser's text doesn't say "when you take damage"... it doesn't even say "when you give blood"... the text reads "you may take 1 damage" and more importantly it states "when you play this" (in the context of Blood Geyser). I would say no, the only ability that triggers Blood Geyser is Blood Geyser. Again, this is me just breaking down the context of the card text and having read through the full rules and interpreting their definitions of certain key words. Hope this helps.
my6AM3RTA6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.