Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2021, 04:01 PM   #1
phiwum
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default Is a Long Lankin multihex?

It never struck me before, but a Long Lankin is as tall as a giant. He looks kinda scrawny in the image, but with quite a reach. Is he a 3-hex figure or a 1-hex?
phiwum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 04:08 PM   #2
Terquem
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Idaho Falls
Default Re: Is a Long Lankin multihex?

Yes

I have read the entry to believe the Long Lankin is an adaptable creature and could be a single, two, or three hex creature depending on the situation
Terquem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 06:03 PM   #3
phiwum
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default Re: Is a Long Lankin multihex?

Okay, I did not expect that answer. And I guess I can see it, though I doubt it was intended by the rules. I sure don't see anything in the rules that suggests that interpretation.

But it's a pretty good one. Makes the Lankin more mysterious and challenging. It fits with the drawing of a gangly critter that can scrunch up or spread wide.

That would mean a Long Lankin can push back and trample, but if an ST 14 donkey can, so can a Lankin I guess.
phiwum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 06:30 PM   #4
Kieddicus
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Default Re: Is a Long Lankin multihex?

I would say no, the Long Lankin is a single hex creature. Yes it does stand just over eight feet tall, but I wouldn't let an eight foot tall human be 3-hexes. Additionally there is nothing in it's description to suggest being a multi-hex creature.
Kieddicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 06:48 PM   #5
phiwum
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default Re: Is a Long Lankin multihex?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kieddicus View Post
I would say no, the Long Lankin is a single hex creature. Yes it does stand just over eight feet tall, but I wouldn't let an eight foot tall human be 3-hexes. Additionally there is nothing in it's description to suggest being a multi-hex creature.
I was reckoning it's closer to 9 ft than 8, if it's one and a half times the height of a human. But I guess if average height is 5'8", one and a half times that is only 8'5".

Those 7" are a big jump, however. An 8'5" Long Lankin is one hex and a 9' giant is three. Again, not saying you're wrong. I had assumed one hex until I realized he was close to giant size.
phiwum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 06:53 PM   #6
Terquem
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Idaho Falls
Default Re: Is a Long Lankin multihex?

And maybe "hexes occupied" does not have to be directly related to "size"

If the creature can turn, strike, and be "present" in many directions at once you could justify a larger presence
Terquem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 07:17 PM   #7
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Is a Long Lankin multihex?

The Lankin is way too fragile already without giving the crossbow snipers a bonus to hit it.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 03:32 AM   #8
Chris Rice
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: London Uk, but originally from Scotland
Default Re: Is a Long Lankin multihex?

I always had the same problem with the Troll. In terms of its stats, itís a big giant, but itís a one-hex creature per the rules.
Chris Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 08:05 AM   #9
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Is a Long Lankin multihex?

I've only used Lankin once so far and put him on the map as a 1 Hex figure.

I routinely use 3 hex markers for trolls if they are high ST. But I have a wider definition of trolls and giants than in the core book; they often range over stat scores, sizes and magical abilities beyond anything mentioned in the rules.
larsdangly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 08:41 AM   #10
amenditman
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Florida Peninsula, Earth, Sol Sytem
Default Re: Is a Long Lankin multihex?

I made a creature from folklore that I have similar size issue with. Base size is only one hex on the ground, but it can be very tall. Sometimes they can be 7 hexes tall, shaped sort of like trees.

Do I call them one hex creatures or bigger?
__________________
The first rule of GMing
"If you make it, players will break it"
amenditman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.