Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2010, 09:21 PM   #1
Easy2putt
 
Easy2putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA.
Default Cards in play rule clarification.

"Cards in play may not be returned to your hand - they must be discarded or traded if you want to get rid of them." - Page 1

If I lose my race/class (from an opponent using a curse) and I have bonus cards that can be only played with the specific race/class, are these bonus cards discarded immediately? or can they be kept around on the table?
Easy2putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 09:25 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Cards in play rule clarification.

They're kept on the table, but no longer give you any benefit. If you're not currently in combat, you should turn them sideways to show that you aren't actually using them anymore. (If you're in combat, you have to wait until the fight is over before changing the status of your Items.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 09:45 PM   #3
Easy2putt
 
Easy2putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA.
Default Re: Cards in play rule clarification.

..and can I replenish my "in play" table cards after my turn is over? - assuming I have a similar race/class card available in my hand.
Easy2putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 09:48 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Cards in play rule clarification.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Easy2putt View Post
..and can I replenish my "in play" table cards after my turn is over? - assuming I have a similar race/class card available in my hand.
If you have the appropriate Race or Class card in your hand, you can play it immediately and not lose the use of any restricted Items. It's only non-one-shot Items that can't be played during a fight -- Races and Classes are perfectly fine at any point during your turn.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 09:51 PM   #5
Easy2putt
 
Easy2putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA.
Default Re: Cards in play rule clarification.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
If you have the appropriate Race or Class card in your hand, you can play it immediately and not lose the use of any restricted Items. It's only non-one-shot Items that can't be played during a fight -- Races and Classes are perfectly fine at any point during your turn.
oh, wow, so then I can immediately retaliate and use another race/class card (assuming I a duplicate one in my hand) to replace one that was just lost to be back in combat?
Easy2putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 05:35 AM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Cards in play rule clarification.

Yes. Read the FAQ and look at Important Note #2 where this is explained in clear detail. Also not that the rules state that Races and Classes may be discarded at any time (this includes during other players' turns and during combat, and this is explicitly stated as well), while they may be played at any time during your turn. At no point is a restriction given that you may not play them while you are in combat.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
discard, in play

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.