Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2010, 08:50 PM   #1
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default "Cheat" card

so i have a question about the card, still very new so forgive my mistakes on cards..

i was playing a game tonight with some friends and the cheat card was played on a broad sword i think (female only) to allow him to equip. a couple turns later he also had another hand weapon equipped, but then later on he wanted to equip a further hand item, and was arguing that the cheat card allows it cause the item it enchants is made legal regardless.

My question is, would the cheat allow the card to further be legal beyond the time of play? as in, because it was already in play illegally can he further equip another "legal" 1h card assuming the illegal card is outside the normal realm of play.

he in essence made the cheat card act as a hireling after the fact... if that makes any sense.
tweedledom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 09:03 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: "Cheat" card

The Cheat! card lifts any restrictions on the use of the Item without changing its essential nature. If it's male/Elf/Warrior only, that doesn't matter. If it's Armor and you're already wearing Armor, that doesn't matter. And so on. But it still counts as what it is, and Curses or Traps or Bad Stuff that hit that type of card can still target it.
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor || New Munchkin player? Check out our Munchkin 101 forum!
#PlayMunchkin to get our attention on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Forum issues? Visit Forum Feedback and Help or email
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 04:30 AM   #3
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Re: "Cheat" card

yah i get that,

but if i already had a 1h equip in play, then used the cheat card on broard sword (because im male) making it playable, giving me 2x 1h equips. can i on a later turn simply equip a 3rd 1h weapon, with the braod sword still being in play but as a cheat?
tweedledom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 05:43 AM   #4
Super Moderator
MunchkinMan's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: "Cheat" card

Yes, because, as Andrew said, Cheat! lifts the restrictions on the Broad Sword. Please read this treatise on the Cheat! card, as it covers a lot of the questions one might have about that card. In fact, the entire thread is chock full of great information.
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep --
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 06:24 AM   #5
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Re: "Cheat" card

Thanks! Still learning rules with my friends
tweedledom is offline   Reply With Quote

cheat, faq

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.