Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2013, 03:04 PM   #1
brogus
 
Join Date: May 2013
Default Rule post. Wizard's Charm on a Humongous creature...

If I were to use the wizard's Charm on a Humongous creature (which increases the number of treasures given from that monster) would those treasures be given to me when I used charm.

The situation was a Stoned Golem (level 14) (which drops 4) was given humongous(+10,plus two treasures if defeated), so it was a humongous stone golem. I charmed it for 6 treasures. A person I was playing with thought I should only get four treasures, since I owned the game and was able to extract the quote from the example combat "and claims the Net Troll's treasures - three from the Net Troll card, and one extra because it was Enraged.", I got 6 (4 +2 additional) treasures. However after talking to more people it appears more people said I should have gotten four treasures. What do other more experienced people think?

Looking at this sites FAQs it says charm counts as defeating but then says I might not get treasures..Clarification?
brogus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 03:33 PM   #2
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: Rule post. Wizard's Charm on a Humongous creature...

The FAQ probably means you may not get treasures if something in the combat requires a kill. You're citing of the sample combat is enough for me, unless I'm missing something.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 03:51 PM   #3
brogus
 
Join Date: May 2013
Default Re: Rule post. Wizard's Charm on a Humongous creature...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bampop View Post
The FAQ probably means you may not get treasures if something in the combat requires a kill. You're citing of the sample combat is enough for me, unless I'm missing something.
In that context the monster was defeated by actual combat not charm. Thats what the other players are arguing at least
brogus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 04:23 PM   #4
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Rule post. Wizard's Charm on a Humongous creature...

You should have gotten 6 Treasures in your example. The FAQ's caveat is there as some methods of defeating a monster say that you don't get any Treasure for that monster. A good example to demonstrate the difference is if you decided to wave at the Humongous Stoned Golem instead of using Charm Spell. Stoned Golem says that if you wave and ignore the monster, you do not get his Treasure. Another method of defeating a monster that may not get Treasure is Magic Lamp (you only get the Treasure if there is one monster present).

The Wizard's Charm Spell ability does say you get the Treasure, so yes, you do get all 6 Treasures for that method of defeating a Humongous Stoned Golem.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charm, enhancer, treasure

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.