Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2009, 02:35 PM   #1
jaholen
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vogsphere
Default How much stuff can a hireling carry?

Hi again
simple question - How much stuff can a hireling carry?

(hope the answer is as simple)
jaholen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 02:58 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?

Assuming you're talking about the standard Hireling from the original Munchkin set, he can carry one extra Big item for you, period.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 03:43 PM   #3
jaholen
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vogsphere
Default Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?

I was thinking more like any hireling
jaholen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 05:10 PM   #4
Cheddar Limbo
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?

Well, depending on which sets you're talking about, certain hirelings have certain restrictions and abilities that affect what they can and cannot carry, so the short answer is: read the card and it should tell you what the hireling can do.
Cheddar Limbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 08:25 PM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?

If a Hireling carries anything, it's one Item. It says as much on every Hireling card that can carry an Item. Hirelings only have the abilities written on the card above and beyond the basic rules. The only thing with respect to carrying Items in those rules is what happens when a Hireling carrying an Item goes away.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 05-14-2009 at 08:31 PM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 12:52 AM   #6
jaholen
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vogsphere
Default Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?

conserning numbers - hirelings can carry one item (if the card doesn't say otherwise)?

Last edited by jaholen; 05-15-2009 at 12:58 AM.
jaholen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 04:36 AM   #7
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaholen
conserning numbers - hirelings can carry one item (if the card doesn't say otherwise)?
Not exactly. If a Hireling can carry an Item, it can carry only what its card says. If you're talking only about Hirelings found in Munchkin, then there aren't any, that I can find, that carry more than one Item. Hirelings don't carry Items just because they are Hirelings, which is what I feel, based on your questions, is a misconception you have. Maybe I'm wrong, but that's the feeling I'm getting.

At any rate: In all of Munchkindom, I can find only two "Hirelings" that carry stuff, and they aren't part of the original Munchkin fantasy genre. Those two are the Loud Hairy Alien Sidekick from Star Munchkin and the Zombie Minion from Munchkin Bites. They also happen to be the only ones that carry (and use) more than one Item.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 06:50 AM   #8
jaholen
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vogsphere
Default Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?

Let me rephrase the question

how many items can a hireling carry (the regular hireling, elf hireling ect)? can he carry all the same Items that the character would be able to carry (armor, steed ect).

sorry for the confusion ... (and for the coming confusion :P)

Last edited by jaholen; 05-15-2009 at 07:03 AM.
jaholen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 09:32 AM   #9
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaholen
Let me rephrase the question

how many items can a hireling carry (the regular hireling, elf hireling ect)? can he carry all the same Items that the character would be able to carry (armor, steed ect).

sorry for the confusion ... (and for the coming confusion :P)
If a Hireling can carry an Item or more, it is stated on the card. It will very likely state what kind of Item and how many, as well. For example, the Gnome Hireling can carry and use ONE Item that is usable by a gnome. This does not mean an Item only usable by a gnome, but any Item usable by a gnome. The only Items a Gnome Hireling can not use are Items that say "Not usable by Gnome." It could be Armor, Headgear, Footgear, require a Hand or two, or not have any "slot" requirements at all, but that Hireling is carrying and using it, so it does not count against your "slots." A Hireling can not have a Steed because you can have, normally, only one in play, and the Hireling rules do not address this so they do not provide an allowance for you to assume your Hireling could use a Steed.

Another example: The Hireling from Munchkin and Munchkin 3 carries an extra Big Item for you, but can't use it (with one exception being the Siege Engine). In other words, that Hireling does nothing more than allow you to have a second Big Item, but you still have to have the open "slots" available to use it.

And, the final example: The Loud Hairy Alien Sidekick from Star Munchkin has 4 arms, which means it technically uses 4 Hands of Items for you. Yes, this means that the Items can only be Hand Items. The Loud Hairy Alien can not use Armor, Headgear, Footgear or any other Items that do not use Hands.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 05-15-2009 at 10:40 AM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 02:32 PM   #10
jaholen
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vogsphere
Default Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?

this answer was quite thorough, I think you covered it all. Thanks.
jaholen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.