Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2020, 11:35 PM   #1
Tenex
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Default Cestus question

A single cestus is treated like a main-gauche, which, among other things, stops 1 hit of damage. You can also wear 2 cesti. Do you interpret that to mean when wearing 2 cesti the character has 2 hits of armor?
Tenex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 02:06 AM   #2
JimmyPlenty
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Cestus question

I would think so.
JimmyPlenty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 08:12 AM   #3
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Cestus question

That's a rational extrapolation, but the rules are mute on this point. And I would have thought that an armor protective value of a cestus would have been noted in its main description block of text. I feel like the more conservative ruling here should be that 'like a main gauche' should be read as 'you can make an off handed attack, like a main gauche', not that the cestus itself has all the properties of the main gauche. That is, I would not award an armor point for 1 or two cesti. This is one of many spots in the rules where a certain looseness of language (and perhaps logic) in the writing seems to permit players to get a free lunch if they mix and match rules in just the right way. But the end result is usually something that violates the basic principles of balance and parity that govern nearly all of the weapon and armor stats. On those grounds, I generally rule against anything that is both too good to be true and not explicitly stated in the rule book.
larsdangly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 08:47 AM   #4
Axly Suregrip
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Default Re: Cestus question

I read it that the cestus DX penalty, when only one is used, is to be exactly the same as a main-gauche. Let me explain why.

First, ITL page 113 is states that "A single cestus is treated exactly like a main-gauche". So it is clear that it is like a MG only when it is a single cestus.

Then when you read about two cesti in the next paragraph, it is the DX penalty that is treated differently.

I would also add that a cestus is not a parrying weapon. A main gauche or a sai has quillions meant for catching the blow. A cestus is basically a brutal boxing glove. Here is a roman sculpture of a cesti boxer "Boxer at Rest":
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boxer_at_Rest
As you can see, nothing about that makes it a weapon that would excel at parries.


BTW, if you want a good thread about main-gauche and two weapons seeL
http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=168333
Axly Suregrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 10:38 AM   #5
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Cestus question

Agreed; I interpret this text to be about the DX penalties associated with making the off handed attack, and only that. But, it is one of about a dozen places where the rules are quite confusing when it comes to two-handed and off-handed weapon use!
larsdangly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 10:45 AM   #6
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Cestus question

By the way, what does this part of the hive mind make of the Legacy Edition treatment of multiple HTH attacks? My long-term memory on this issue was that you get a +4 DX adjustment for any single HTH attack, and make 2 attacks (say, two punches, or a dagger and a punch) with no DX adjustment. But I'm not confident LE is identical to this; it is surprisingly hard to track down the statement about the +4 bonus and I can't recall what it says about two attacks. Anyone out there have the RAW details ready to mind?
larsdangly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 02:20 PM   #7
warhorse11h
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Default Re: Cestus question

Quote:
Originally Posted by larsdangly View Post
By the way, what does this part of the hive mind make of the Legacy Edition treatment of multiple HTH attacks? My long-term memory on this issue was that you get a +4 DX adjustment for any single HTH attack, and make 2 attacks (say, two punches, or a dagger and a punch) with no DX adjustment. But I'm not confident LE is identical to this; it is surprisingly hard to track down the statement about the +4 bonus and I can't recall what it says about two attacks. Anyone out there have the RAW details ready to mind?
The +4 quote is on page 117.
warhorse11h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 02:48 PM   #8
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Cestus question

I did find that one in the new edition, but how about a statement re. the penalty for making two HTH attacks in the same turn?
larsdangly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 04:00 PM   #9
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Cestus question

To make two HTH attacks in a single turn you need stompable foes, Cestus (ITL 113), UC V (ITL 44) or a Dagger Staff IV+.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 05:36 PM   #10
warhorse11h
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Default Re: Cestus question

Quote:
Originally Posted by larsdangly View Post
I did find that one in the new edition, but how about a statement re. the penalty for making two HTH attacks in the same turn?
The left hand weapons blurb on pg 111 allows for a normal attack and a second dagger attack against the same foe at -4 DX. That could get you to an fist attack at +4 DX and a second attack with the dagger against the same foe at normal DX (bonus and penalty cancel out).

Cestus rules on 112 indicate that you could make two attacks with two cesti on and each would be at -3 DX (HTH would seem to move that to DX +1 on each).

Both rules would, to me tend to support allowing two fist punches with the first at +4 DX and the second, against the same opponent, at normal DX (bonus and penalty cancel), but I am interpreting from the available text and may have left something out. But, not to worry, I'm sure somebody will find fault and tell me off.

Of course, I've frequently been told that I don't know what I'm doing or that I don't play this game the right way, so you may want to take this with a grain of salt.
warhorse11h is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.