Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2019, 06:43 AM   #1
Tywyll
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Default Fire vs Big Targets

When a giant or other multi-hex monster, moves through multiple fire hexes with a single hex step, do they take damage from all the fire hexes or do you only count the hexes they move through from a single point.
i.e. if a giants moves 1 hex forward and enters a fire hex, but this also moves it's lower right side into a different fire hex, has it taken 2 or 4 damage?
Tywyll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2019, 09:27 AM   #2
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Fire vs Big Targets

Great question. I think a strict application of RAW would be that you take fire damage every time one of your hexes enters a fire hex, and so the highest total applies. On the other hand, if you are trying to make a rational ruling you might also note that a 1 hex figure that simply stands for a full turn in a fire hex takes 4, so you might cap the damage at 4.

A related question: should you apply armor or natural protection once to the total, or to each 2 point wound? I would say the latter.
larsdangly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2019, 01:56 PM   #3
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: Fire vs Big Targets

Yeah, I treat each hex of the multi-hex figure as a single figure for fire damage purposes, both for the damage and the protection.

Though sometimes it also makes sense to give a higher protection rating... e.g. a giant's boots might protect against small enough fires like leather armor.
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 11:05 AM   #4
Shoug
 
Join Date: May 2019
Default Re: Fire vs Big Targets

Quote:
Originally Posted by larsdangly View Post
A related question: should you apply armor or natural protection once to the total, or to each 2 point wound? I would say the latter.
The former is how fire works RAW. It's underneath the FIRE spell.
Shoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.