Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 02-13-2014, 11:10 AM   #1
Damurack

Default Can't decide on Gurps 4e or Hero 6e

I am new to GMing,
I am also new to both of these systems,
I am planning on creating a Sci Fi setting from scratch.

I know this will be a lot of work, and reading. I have asked the people who are wanting to play in this game ( which we are aiming to be playing a long time ) many questions about what they want. These are a few types of things they want.

A quick and understandable battle system ( after being learned, of course ),
Highly adaptable character creation,
More of a 'Role Playing' type game, ( more Star Trek, than Star Wars )
Limited or no reduced abilities from damage.

I have collaborated on homemade RPGs and got tired of the lack of a stable game system to develop stories with. I am planning for this to be a long term project so any recommendations would help ( I hope, anyways )
Damurack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 11:36 AM   #2
Randyman

Default Re: Can't decide on Gurps 4e or Hero 6e

First, I hope you are asking the same question on the Hero message boards, just to get a balanced set of responses. :)

Second, any game mechanics can be "more role playing"; that's a matter of what happens at the gaming table (real or virtual).

Third, I'm not a game mechanics expert, so I can't address the combat system concerns. But both games are "highly adaptable" in character generation.

"(GURPS) isn't a game but a toolkit for building games, and the GM needs to use it intelligently" - Kromm
Randyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 11:37 AM   #3
Grouchy Chris

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damurack View Post
Limited or no reduced abilities from damage.