Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2013, 11:49 PM   #1
twelsh760
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Death clarification

When you die in munchkin, you lose all your cards excepting race and class. you are dead and cannot receive cards or levels for any reason.
but in the very next players turn you appear and can help in combat.

At what point does the state of "dead" end?

Can you negotiate treasure or gain elf levels in that combat example?

Last edited by twelsh760; 09-17-2013 at 11:53 PM.
twelsh760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 12:01 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Death clarification

If you died on player A's turn, you are back alive when player B's turn begins. (Assuming that B immediately follows A, as it is wont to do.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor || New Munchkin player? Check out our Munchkin 101 forum!
#PlayMunchkin to get our attention on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Forum issues? Visit Forum Feedback and Help or email forums@sjames.com
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 12:10 AM   #3
HumbleHitman
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Humble Texas
Default Re: Death clarification

I also believe that if you are carrying the "very impressive title" card, it stays with you since it does not classify as an item
HumbleHitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 01:01 AM   #4
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Death clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by HumbleHitman View Post
I also believe that if you are carrying the "very impressive title" card, it stays with you since it does not classify as an item
No, Really Impressive Title is lost if you die. You only keep the cards you are told to keep in the rules for the set/s you are using (unless a card says otherwise). So for base Munchkin, you only keep your current Race/s, your current Class/es and any continuing Curses.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 04:49 AM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Death clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by HumbleHitman View Post
I also believe that if you are carrying the "very impressive title" card, it stays with you since it does not classify as an item
You lose everything but the cards you are told you can keep by the rules. The rules go on to say, "Lay out your hand beside the cards you had in play," not the Items you had in play, the cards you had in play. Of course, the prior rule told you that your Race(s), Class(es), and any continuing Curses stay with your character, so you can essentially move any other cards you had in play to the side, plop your hand next to those and then let everyone pick one card from that group.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 01:41 PM   #6
twelsh760
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Re: Death clarification

Thank you that answers the question. So death esentially means you cannot 'cash out' your cards prior to losing your hand.
The verty next turn you can help for treasure, gain helper levels and the like from that point forward. again thank you for the prompt reaponse
twelsh760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 02:37 PM   #7
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Death clarification

Quote:
Originally Posted by twelsh760 View Post
Thank you that answers the question. So death esentially means you cannot 'cash out' your cards prior to losing your hand.
The verty next turn you can help for treasure, gain helper levels and the like from that point forward. again thank you for the prompt reaponse
Yeah. Immediately upon Death you lose all the cards in your hand and all the cards on the table that aren't your Race, Class and continuing Curses that had hit you. You can't play cards from your hand or sell them or anything. That goes for any type of Curse or Bad Stuff as well, you must fully resolve the Curse or Bad Stuff before you can do anything else (unless a card says otherwise, of course).
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dead, death, dying, helping

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.