Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip > The Fantasy Trip: House Rules

Old 07-28-2018, 05:27 AM   #1
Bestial Warlust

Default New talent and sword and sorcery variant

So I'm extremely new to this game as in a few days. But it's got my brain working. I just had an idea for wizards. First up the new talent:

IQ 7 Talent
Contemplation (1) using this the wizard focuses his thoughts and energy allowing a recovery of 2 points of fatigue for every 15 minutes of rest. Like literacy the cost isn't doubled for wizards.

or a Sword and Sorcery variant:

Purple lotus
This plant is dried and crushed into a powder which is than inhaled by the wizard. Use of this allows a immediate recovery of 4 fatigue, however it does come with several drawbacks. For one hour after use the wizard is in a euphoric state any type of perception or search rolls roll 4 dice instead of 3. Also constant use ( more than twice a week) can cause addiction. The wizard must make a ST saving roll or become addicted. This has two effects; whenever the wizard is in a stressful situation -- combat, etc.. he must make the ST saving roll or he will have to take a "hit" of the powder. If the wizard hasn't expended any fatigue then he will no longer gain the benefit of it's use until after the effect of the powder has worn off in an hour.
The second effect is addiction. If the wizard uses the powder more than twice a week he is now addicted and for everyday that the wizard doesn't use some of the powder is adjDex gets a -4 due to withdrawl. A character can only benefit from the powder once a day.