Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > Dungeon Fantasy Roleplaying Game

Old 02-23-2020, 07:57 AM   #1
clu2415

Default Advice on equipment for a new GM

I’m starting up a Dungeon Fantasy game with some friends. This is my first time running GURPS and my first time seeing it played in a fantasy genre. One of my players has experience with GURPS, but he rest are fairly new to RPGs in general. They’re counting on me for a lot of advice on their starting cash but I don’t want to screw them over

So far they’ve made a bard, scout, wizard, and druid. My last player is planning on a melee fighter. What’s your preferred armor for low ST types? Is a breastplate and helmet workable to start out? I guess if it doesn’t work out, I can drop some new armor as loot.

Also, I can’t find prices for beasts of burden, carts and wagons in my DF starter set. Where would you go for that? Basic Set? (I know my wife will want a poooony.) I had found Icelander’s horse stats and prices and was considering using them. Has anybody used them in DF?
clu2415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 08:16 AM   #2
lachimba

Default Re: Advice on equipment for a new GM

Quote:
Originally Posted by clu2415 View Post

So far they’ve made a bard, scout, wizard, and druid. My last player is planning on a melee fighter. What’s your preferred armor for low ST types? Is a breastplate and helmet workable to start out? I guess if it doesn’t work out, I can drop some new armor as loot.
Buy Strength. There is no viable way to play a low strength melee fighter without breaking game assumptions.

Strength is one of the most overlooked and useful stats in DFRPG.
lachimba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 08:27 AM   #3
clu2415

The melee fighter is definitely going to have strength. He’ll have tons of armor options.