Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 10-19-2010, 06:43 AM   #1
Sam Baughn

Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and some other bits.
Default Low-Tech Armour Loadouts.

I've been playing around with the armour creation system in Low-Tech this morning and trying to come up with some historically accurate loadouts.

Please bear in mind that I'm not an expert on historical armour by any means and that this is the first time I've tried using the system, so there is a good chance that there are some mistakes...

High Medieval Knight (around 1200 AD)

Hauberk - covers Torso, Arms and Thighs with Heavy Mail (DR 5/3*), $2,340, 35.1 lbs.
Mail Coif of Fine Mail (DR 4/2*), $270, 4.5 lbs.
Arming Cap - Coif of Padded Cloth (DR 1*), $15, 1.8 lbs.
Flat-Topped Full Helm of Light Plate (DR 3), $240, 2.9 lbs.
Mittons - cover Hands with Fine Mail (DR 4/2*), $90, 1.5 lbs.
Chausses - cover Legs and Feet with Light Mail (DR 3/1*), $550, 13.2 lbs.

TOTAL: $3,505, 59 lbs.

This is the classic 'crusader knight' look - head-to-toe mail topped off with a simple barrel helm. The weight and cost seem to be in the right ballpark for a heavy cavalryman and the entire body is reasonably protected against arrows, spears and swords. I'm not sure about the helm; I don't know what thickness of plate would really be appropriate or if it should be considered fluted.