Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 11-14-2008, 10:21 PM   #1
b-dog

Default At what size do giants need the Dependency (Mana) advantage?

I was wondering at what size making giants have the Dependency (Mana) advantage. I was thinking around 8 feet tall but I am not an expert in biomechanics. I would think that much taller than 8 foot tall the character would be largely unplayable being way too slow and awkward to be very fun. To be a spry hill giant I would imagine that the PC would need to have mana to support him, what do you think?

Of course fire giants, frost giants and storm giants would lose their powers so would they recieve an extra -10% for mana?

For instance say an fire giant has DR 30 (fire only) (-40% limited defenses, -10% magical) 75 points.
b-dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 12:00 AM   #2
Warlockco

Default Re: At what size do giants need the Dependency (Mana) advantage?

Why would Giants need to be Dependent on Mana?
Unless Giants were totally Innately Magical, they wouldn't need to be.
Warlockco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 12:05 AM   #3
Icelander

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warlockco
Why would Giants need to be Dependent on Mana?
Unless Giants were totally Innately Magical, they wouldn't need to be.
He means that at a certain size giants become physically impossible. If the GM wants them to exist nonetheless, presumably something is overruling the laws of physics in order to keep the giant ambulatory and alive. In a fantasy world, it is most likely that this something would be magic.

Hence the need for mana. In a normal world with normal physics, such giants would suffocate under their own weight.