Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 09-27-2010, 02:49 PM   #1
Randalthor66

Default Damage

Hello all, I am new to GURPS (but not RPGing) and have a question about damage - it is likely the most basic/asked question about damage, but....

When rolling D# minus # can you get less than 1? Or is 1 the minimum? Example: 1D6-2. (Is it 0-4, or just 1-4?)

Oh! Just thought of another one.

Why still have the 2 different types of damage (thrust/swing)? Hasn't anyone explained the fact that if you thrust a nice sharp object (what you would normally thrust), all that energy is concentrated on the tip meaning it can be just as deadly as swinging an axe or a sword? Obviously, if you are thrusting the dull end of a broom handle it isn't nearly as deadly as a poniard. (But I would assume you weren't going for deadly with the broom handle, but just trying to knock the wind out or push them back, or something like that.)

I think it should be the weapon that determines the extra damage with the strength of the character determining the base - and same for thrust or swing.
Randalthor66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 02:56 PM   #2
Mailanka

Default Re: Damage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randalthor66 View Post
Hello all, I am new to GURPS (but not RPGing) and have a question about damage - it is likely the most basic/asked question about damage, but....

When rolling D# minus # can you get less than 1? Or is 1 the minimum? Example: 1D6-2. (Is it 0-4, or just 1-4?)

Oh! Just thought of another one.