Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS > GURPS Character Assistant

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2019, 07:00 PM   #1
Jesster
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Lakeside, OR
Default Log ST and jumping move coding

Hey all,

Sorry to pester but I'm sure I'm missing something easy here in the code, and I can't figure it out.

My buddy is GMing a Supers campaign and he's house ruled KYOS log ST.
I'm trying to get GCA to calculate move properly when super-jumping but I don't know how to use the @if command or the @power command well enough to sort it out.

I planned to make an extra stat called "Log Jump Move" and have ST:Broad Jump base itself off of "Log Jump Move" when that's higher than "Ground Move".

Here's the line I created, but it doesn't seem to work. So I'm certain I'm messing up the @if or the @power.

Quote:
Log Jump Move, basevalue(@if ST:Jumping ST < 16 THEN ST:Basic Ground Move,
@if(ST:Jumping ST = 17) THEN 6,
@if(ST:Jumping ST = 18) THEN 6,
@if(ST:Jumping ST = 19) THEN 7,
@if(ST:Jumping ST = 20) THEN 8,
@if(ST:Jumping ST = 21) THEN 9,
@if(ST:Jumping ST = 22) THEN 10,
@if(ST:Jumping ST = 23) THEN 11,
@if(ST:Jumping ST = 24) THEN 13,
@if(ST:Jumping ST = 25) THEN 14,
@if(ST:Jumping ST = 26) THEN 16,
@if(ST:Jumping ST = 27) THEN 18,
@if(ST:Jumping ST = 28) THEN 20,
@if(ST:Jumping ST = 29) THEN 22,
@if(ST:Jumping ST = 30) THEN 25,
@if(ST:Jumping ST > 30) THEN @int(25 * (@power(10 , ((ST:Jumping ST-30)/20)))),
), step(1), maxscore(1000000), minscore(1), up(0), down(0), round(-1), display(Yes)
Basically for Normal Human Strength levels, it should just default to basic move
and for ST 30 or greater, it should be 25 times 10 to the power of ((ST-30)/20)

Obviously, I also created a stat called Jumping ST and it calculates as
Quote:
Jumping ST, basevalue(ST:ST), step(1), maxscore(1000000), minscore(ST:ST), up(1), down(0), round(-1), display(No)
Can anyone see my mess ups easily?

Thanks!

-Jesse
Jesster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 02:11 PM   #2
Armin
GCA Prime
 
Armin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Default Re: Log ST and jumping move coding

I think if your basevalue() looked more like this, it would be better:

Code:
basevalue(_
  @if(_
       ST:Jumping ST < 16 _
  THEN _
       ST:Basic Ground Move _
  ELSE _
       @indexedvalue( ST:Jumping ST-16,6,6,7,8,9,10,11,13,14,16,18,20,22,25, @int( 25 * (10 ^ ((ST:Jumping ST-30)/20) ) )  ) _
  )_
)
You'll probably have to adjust the @int() part of @indexedvalue() because I wasn't really paying attention to what you were trying to accomplish and I'm not sure of the best formula for what you want. The idea is that the many @if() functions you were trying to use weren't the most efficient way to handle things. Also you can do exponents using ^, but the @power() function requires integers.
__________________
Armin D. Sykes | Visit my GCA5 blog for updates and previews. | Get GURPS Character Assistant 5 now at Warehouse 23.
Armin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 07:33 PM   #3
Jesster
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Lakeside, OR
Default Re: Log ST and jumping move coding

That worked perfectly, thank Armin!!!!
Jesster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2019, 10:22 PM   #4
Armin
GCA Prime
 
Armin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Default Re: Log ST and jumping move coding

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesster View Post
That worked perfectly, thank Armin!!!!
You're welcome!
__________________
Armin D. Sykes | Visit my GCA5 blog for updates and previews. | Get GURPS Character Assistant 5 now at Warehouse 23.
Armin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 03:13 PM   #5
Ragabash Moon
 
Ragabash Moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Default Re: Log ST and jumping move coding

So wait, is this the optional rule of using ST in place of Basic Move if your basic lift is higher than your weight, or something different? Because I was looking for that as an optional rule checkbox and didn't find it, so now I'm here looking to see if there is some way to do that?

EDIT: Found it! It's a character sheet option (at least in Phoenix) and not a program option :)
__________________

Cleopatra: Whenever she assigned me to the switch, was that Voice, or was Raina influencing her thinking? Because, I mean, if it was Raina, she got inside my head and decided that I would screw it up.

Last edited by Ragabash Moon; 06-10-2019 at 08:14 AM. Reason: found answer to own question, posting it for others who might be looking in the future.
Ragabash Moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.