Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2013, 03:18 PM   #1
Gidoza
 
Join Date: May 2013
Default Gnome Monster Ability

Clarification question: When the Gnome uses his ability to toss in a monster from his hand and this monster's level helps the Gnome (only if he is fighting alone), can this ability be used only once EVER? Or can it be used once per combat?

Having played a little with Clerical Errors now, this ability seems to be a tad on the strong side...
Gidoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 07:39 PM   #2
six's monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Default Re: Gnome Monster Ability

Class abilities may be used over and over, as long as the 'fuel' for them is available.
Monsters cast as 'phantasms' (my term, not an official one) are discarded in the process, so a Gnome would need to have or get another monster card in hand before casting again.
six's monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 08:34 PM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Gnome Monster Ability

Yeah, it's not once per game. It is definitely limited to once per combat, though. The card says that in a combat alone, you can play one monster as an illusion, not multiple monsters.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 09:25 PM   #4
Gidoza
 
Join Date: May 2013
Default Re: Gnome Monster Ability

Yes, I realize it's only one monster. I'm just double-checking because it seems pretty absurd to get +20 bonuses just because one is a Gnome! (and yes...in the last game I played, my hand was packed with really huge creatures...nobody was able to stop me from winning because my strength was overwhelmingly guaranteed)
Gidoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 01:01 AM   #5
Munchkingirl
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas!
Default Re: Gnome Monster Ability

The illusion power is one of the best abilities of any race in Munchkin- in my opinion anyway. That is why I always try to play as a gnome. It does seem overpowered but this is where cards such as lose your race come in handy for the other players in the game.
And the gnome race is pretty much pointless if your hand isn't stacked with huge monsters
Munchkingirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 11:41 AM   #6
Gidoza
 
Join Date: May 2013
Default Re: Gnome Monster Ability

I suppose...nevertheless, it's not like "lose your race" cards are especially common in any way. I've learned never to depend on "lose your race" cards for anything, because they're too rare.
Gidoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.