Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2020, 10:05 AM   #1
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Defend your rear

Bob with no talents is holding a crossbow and takes the defend option.

Anne steps into Bob's rear hex and strikes at him using her sword skill. She now has to roll her DX +4 on four dice or less, because Bob is defending.

Whatever the results of Anne's attack, Bob's crossbow is now broken.

Is this the correct reading of ITL page 117 and Melee page 20?
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2020, 11:28 AM   #2
Celjabba
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Luxembourg
Default Re: Defend your rear

With the understanding that to take the defend option, Bob had to be engaged first.
Celjabba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2020, 11:36 AM   #3
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Defend your rear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Celjabba View Post
With the understanding that to take the defend option, Bob had to be engaged first.
Anne's on his rear so he's engaged.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2020, 11:50 AM   #4
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: Defend your rear

We always felt the intention (and what made sense, which we trusted was the same thing, or else it was an oversight which should be corrected), was that Defend only applied from the front.

The rules do say:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITL p.117
A figure can defend only if it has a staff, sword, club, etc., ready to parry the attack with.
and it seems to me that being "ready" in this case would logically include facing the right direction, hence why this is a question even when no, I don't think it explicitly says that.

I can see reasoning and ways to imagine it making sense to allow Defending from all directions (e.g. it's a five-second turn, so facing the wrong direction doesn't mean you couldn't defend yourself at all, especially when spending the whole turn trying to defend).

Really I'd be content to play it either way, though less content if someone were using a house rule where Defend also counted as Dodge, and were munckining up a storm with, say, weapon mastery on a wizard using the new free-action 2-hex armor-penetrating DX+3 zap attack...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Celjabba View Post
With the understanding that to take the defend option, Bob had to be engaged first.
That seems like an over-literal misunderstanding of the options list, to me.

Last edited by Skarg; 02-13-2020 at 11:58 AM.
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2020, 12:17 PM   #5
JimmyPlenty
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Defend your rear

Defend is like a shield, only effective from the front. the idea is that you are parrying.

True that it does not specifically say that though. But I'm pretty sure that is the original intent.
JimmyPlenty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2020, 01:40 PM   #6
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Defend your rear

Whatever the rules book explicitly says in its 'rules' tone of voice, I think it is obvious that the intent, and best practices, is to only allow Defend against attacks coming in through front hex sides (excepting those cases that are called out, like martial artists who treat side and rear hexes as front facings).
larsdangly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.