Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip > The Fantasy Trip: House Rules

View Poll Results: I rule the order of attacks as follows:
Axe, Longbow, Crossbow -- it's RAW 4 23.53%
Longbow, then roll-off between Axe and Crossbow -- it's RAW 11 64.71%
My ruling isn't listed here. Don't worry, I'll explain later 2 11.76%
Voters: 17. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2019, 10:27 AM   #1
RobW
 
RobW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Default YOU'RE the GM: the circular firing squad

Longbow (DX13) is pointing at the side hex of Throwing Axe (DX12) who is pointing at the side hex of Crossbow (DX12), who is pointing at the side hex of Longbow.
What is the order of attacks?
RobW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 08:23 AM   #2
Nils_Lindeberg
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Default Re: YOU'RE the GM: the circular firing squad

Sorry didn't realize it was a poll. Thought it was a rules question and answered. :-)
Nils_Lindeberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 10:58 AM   #3
Tywyll
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Default Re: YOU'RE the GM: the circular firing squad

I must be missing something...what rule would possibly apply that would have anyone beat the longbow?
Tywyll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 11:47 AM   #4
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: YOU'RE the GM: the circular firing squad

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tywyll View Post
I must be missing something...what rule would possibly apply that would have anyone beat the longbow?
Some people think facing applies to thrown weapons, because they can't find a literal reference to the word "thrown" as well as "missile" about it.
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 01:23 PM   #5
RVA_Grandpa
 
RVA_Grandpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Richmond, VA, USA
Default Re: YOU'RE the GM: the circular firing squad

Are we assuming that all three fighters are adjacent (engaged) with each other?
__________________
RVA_Grandpa
-----------------------------------------
https://travelingthelabyrinth.blogspot.com
We never really grow up; we only learn how to act in public.
RVA_Grandpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 03:04 PM   #6
MikMod
 
Join Date: May 2019
Default Re: YOU'RE the GM: the circular firing squad

It never felt right to me that a character throwing a knife over 4 hexes would be slower to act than one throwing over 2 hexes, regardless their 'chance to hit' is less.
MikMod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 03:10 PM   #7
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: YOU'RE the GM: the circular firing squad

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikMod View Post
It never felt right to me that a character throwing a knife over 4 hexes would be slower to act than one throwing over 2 hexes, regardless their 'chance to hit' is less.
It's not. RAW says not to have range penalties affect sequence of actions.
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 03:48 PM   #8
RVA_Grandpa
 
RVA_Grandpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Richmond, VA, USA
Default Re: YOU'RE the GM: the circular firing squad

I change my vote to: Axe, Longbow, Crossbow -- it's RAW
__________________
RVA_Grandpa
-----------------------------------------
https://travelingthelabyrinth.blogspot.com
We never really grow up; we only learn how to act in public.
RVA_Grandpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 10:44 PM   #9
Chris Rice
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: London Uk, but originally from Scotland
Default Re: YOU'RE the GM: the circular firing squad

This is discussed in Melee, p10 under: Attacks (facing):

"Note: Missile weapon attacks don't get DX adds for facing."

Therefore, Thrown weapon attacks do get DX adds for facing. So the thrown Axe gets the +2 DX for facing the enemies side hex, which makes the axeman's adjDX 14, which results in the throw being first.

That's my reasoning.
Chris Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 11:02 PM   #10
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: YOU'RE the GM: the circular firing squad

Side and Rear are never defined in terms of arcs that go farther than one hex away from a figure, only the front arc is.

I think the intention is that only non-ranged attacks from one hex away get a facing bonus for side/rear attacks.

For example, if someone throws, shoots, or even does a 2-hex jab from a hex that is along the spine between side and rear facings, what would the bonus even be? There has never been any hex diagram or rule anywhere that says whether that's side or rear, is there?
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.