Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2018, 12:23 PM   #1
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default IQ rise and talents

I just realized that the new treatment of spells and talents is inconsistent with the way my group has generally handled gaining them when your IQ goes up. Perhaps it wasn't correct, but we always let people just pick new spells and talents whenever their IQ went up by experience, 'filling up' their new capacity. But this is clearly not specified in the new rules, and I would say is inconsistent with their intent. That is, you clearly have to buy your new spells and talents with EXP even if you have raised IQ to exceed the number of points of them you've already got. Agreed?
larsdangly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 12:41 PM   #2
TippetsTX
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Texas
Default Re: IQ rise and talents

Our GM back in the day made us use the 'training' rules. We had to pre-select the next 3 talents that we planned to gain when we earned enough XP to raise IQ sufficiently.

Was that rule eliminated in the revision?
TippetsTX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 02:38 PM   #3
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: IQ rise and talents

I didn't notice that, but I'll read for that again later.

What I did notice is the missing sections on what it actually takes to learn a spell in terms of needing a book or teacher who knows the spell, and time, and likely a fee or apprenticeship relationship. Those seem like big steps backwards to me, especially not mentioning the need to learn a spell from some source rather than just getting it from their imagination.
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 02:42 PM   #4
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: IQ rise and talents

See ITL-141 for how to record, copy and read spells.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 02:45 PM   #5
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: IQ rise and talents

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
See ITL-141 for how to record, copy and read spells.
How about for where to learn them?

I.e. the missing five paragraphs from original Advanced Wizard "Learning New Spells" on page 10.
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 03:00 PM   #6
platimus
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: IQ rise and talents

Quote:
Originally Posted by larsdangly View Post
I just realized that the new treatment of spells and talents is inconsistent with the way my group has generally handled gaining them when your IQ goes up. Perhaps it wasn't correct, but we always let people just pick new spells and talents whenever their IQ went up by experience, 'filling up' their new capacity. But this is clearly not specified in the new rules, and I would say is inconsistent with their intent. That is, you clearly have to buy your new spells and talents with EXP even if you have raised IQ to exceed the number of points of them you've already got. Agreed?
The way I understand the system, talents and spells don't fill up "IQ slots" after character creation. Yes, you must meet their IQ requirements but you don't have to raise your IQ just to "make room in your head" for more talents/spells. You pay XP for them instead.

During character creation, your starting IQ limits how many talents/spells you know starting off...by using the old "IQ slots".

This new system was presented by Steve back in mid June. It may have been proposed as far back as April :) but I wouldn't know :)
http://forums.sjgames.com/showpost.p...8&postcount=13

Last edited by platimus; 09-29-2018 at 03:59 PM.
platimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 03:02 PM   #7
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: IQ rise and talents

May a starting character leave an IQ slot idle to drop in one new talent as needed later on?
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 03:07 PM   #8
platimus
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: IQ rise and talents

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
May a starting character leave an IQ slot idle to drop in one new talent as needed later on?
You can but you'd be wasting it. After character creation, I don't think you need IQ slots.
platimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 03:11 PM   #9
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: IQ rise and talents

My impression is you can, but there are no rules for how to do that, since all the rules about learning things and how long it takes and needing a teacher or book are missing.

I think the XP for talents is just to exceed your IQ in talent/spell points.
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 03:18 PM   #10
platimus
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: IQ rise and talents

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skarg View Post
My impression is you can, but there are no rules for how to do that, since all the rules about learning things and how long it takes and needing a teacher or book are missing.

I think the XP for talents is just to exceed your IQ in talent/spell points.
I think you're wrong on both counts.

"you can, but there are no rules for how to do that". There are no rules for it because IQ points are moot after character creation.

See ITL p. 45
Learning New Spells and Talents

Last edited by platimus; 09-29-2018 at 03:23 PM.
platimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.