Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2011, 04:45 AM   #1
Greendogo
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Monster -> Magic Lamp -> Mate???

Ok, so I'm up against a Platinum Dragon (lvl 20, 5 treasures, lot'o'death).

I have a magic lamp in my hand, which I think will be swell, as I also have a +10 Ancient card in my hand that gives the monster 2 more treasures.

I play the Ancient Card on the Dragon and then play the Magic Lamp to make him vanish and leave me with 7 treasures.

So my friend plays Mate, and that's where we run into trouble.

Has combat already ended if I play the Magic Lamp card? We have a five second rule to give the other players time to interfere with combat, but can he play mate if the monster has been evaporated?

Also, do I get the +2 treasures from the Ancient card, since I didn't defeat the monster, but made it vanish?

I see three possible outcomes:
1) I make the first lvl 30 monster vanish but his mate comes up and I need to run away or die.
2) I make the first lvl 30 monster vanish and my friend can't play the mate card and I get 5 treasures.
3) Same as number 2, but I get +2 treasures from Ancient.
Which one is correct?

I'm not sure if Magic Lamp ends combat immediately, without the possibility of interference from other players.
Greendogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 08:31 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Monster -> Magic Lamp -> Mate???

Combat's not over, but the Monster is gone and can't be duplicated. He can add a Wandering Monster or something else, since you must give him time to stop you ending the combat advantageously, but he can't Mate or modify a Monster that's not there.

This situation is actually explicitly covered in the FAQ:

Quote:
Originally Posted by The FAQ
Q. Some cards, like Magic Lamp, Illusion, and Pollymorph Potion, let you get rid of ONE monster. If you get rid of a monster, does its mate (or, in the expansions, its relatives) also leave? In other words, is Mate an enhancement card like Ancient or fully separate like Wandering Monster additions?
A. A Mate is like a Wandering Monster. There are now two monsters, and you have to get rid of them individually. If you play the get-rid-of-it card before somebody plays Mate, though, there's no monster left for the Mate to join, so Mate can't be played.
If he's unable to stop you legally, you get 7 Treasures.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 01-17-2011 at 09:24 AM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 08:49 AM   #3
Frenzied_Otter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Re: Monster -> Magic Lamp -> Mate???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greendogo View Post
Also, do I get the +2 treasures from the Ancient card, since I didn't defeat the monster, but made it vanish?
Using a magic lamp counts as defeating the monster, so you get all 7 treasures. It does not count as killing the monster, however, so you don't get levels. This is explained in the FAQ under Important Note #3.
Frenzied_Otter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 12:56 PM   #4
Greendogo
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Re: Monster -> Magic Lamp -> Mate???

Thanks, that helps clear things up.

One more thing, let me elaborate on my second question.

I actually played the "Humongous" card, which is, I think, the same as the Ancient card. It says: "+10 to Level of Monster: Play during combat. If the monster is DEFEATED, draw 2 extra treasures."

Does it count as defeating the monster if I use the magic lamp?
Greendogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 01:02 PM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Monster -> Magic Lamp -> Mate???

Yes, using the Magic Lamp counts as defeating the monster. Please read the Munchkin FAQ, which has a discussion of "defeat" vs. "kill" vs. "lose."
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 01:04 PM   #6
Greendogo
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Re: Monster -> Magic Lamp -> Mate???

Yeah, I was about to edit my reply since I just read it in the FAQ.

Anyways, thanks for the help guys! You're the best!
Greendogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 01:05 PM   #7
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Monster -> Magic Lamp -> Mate???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greendogo View Post
Does it count as defeating the monster if I use the magic lamp?
Yup. So, as I said before: 7 Treasures. You make it Humongous and Ancient, 9 Treasures. I could go through all the list of Monster Enhancers, but most, if not all, of them say 1 or 2 more Treasures on a defeat, depending on whether they are +5 or +10 (though Undead gives +5, but 2 extra Treasures). As is covered in the FAQ, a kill is a type of defeat, but not the only kind.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
magic lamp, mate

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.