Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Old 09-02-2020, 05:31 PM   #1
munchgirl

Default best starter expansion set

Due to covid 19 I want to expand my basic card set to avoid reshuffling. As a beginner what package do you reommend I start with?
munchgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 07:26 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor

Default Re: best starter expansion set

I'm moving your post out of Munchkin 101, which is really meant for rule questions, and into the main Munchkin forum where you can get a wide variety of opinions, not just mine.

(EDIT: And I realized I didn't exactly answer your question, which is about expansions for a game you already have. I am a bad Line Editor. I'm going to leave this up to the other posters here; if all you had was original Munchkin, what would YOU want to get next?)

My short answer is "Play what you think your group likes." If you have a bunch of people into science fiction, Star Munchkin is a good choice. If you like pirates, Munchkin Booty has got you covered. Want to eat brains? Munchkin Zombies. And so on.

That said, the best selling set by far is the original game, and many of the other lets with the same card backs will mix together very well with that. Plus, there are LOTS of expansions for the "fantasy series," meaning original Munchkin and the other sets that look like it. I don't recommend that new players mix up different games, and really I think you should play the base game by itself a couple of times before you start thinking about adding any expansions at all. If it turns out that dungeoneering isn't your thing, better to know that before you've got eight expansions and a bunch of 15-card sets added in.