Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 08-24-2018, 04:21 PM   #1
Wendell_Burke

Default Questions on Converting a game to GURPS

Hello!

I'm new here and have played gurps only once, but it was with someone who was really good at running it and I've really come to appreciate the system! To that end, I'm trying to understand how one can convert a game to the Gurps system? I mean, I'm sure can just start making approximations, but it seems like there should be some sort of system or book on how to go about it. Is there? If not, how do you structure all of that information? And what if you want to make changes from the original system? How does this affect game balance?

For example, I really like the world of the Dresden Files! I recently got the books as I have had no previous experience with the Fate system. In short, while I think the Aspect thing is neat, I really don't care for how abbreviated character creation is. I'd like a system where there's a significant starting allotment for skills in order to have some more wiggle room to paint a more detailed picture of a starting character (Significantly more than in the Fate system), however, I'd like to keep the character as a beginning character so as to enjoy the gradual increase in experience from play. This isn't about making the character very powerful at the beginning. It's about the character having enough ways, outside of just powers and combat skills, to express a fleshed out and well rounded starting character. So, how does one go about converting a system to Gurps with alterations in mind, while also keeping it balanced and playable?

Thanks!
Wendell_Burke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 04:47 PM   #2
Maz

Default Re: Questions on Converting a game to GURPS

Welcome!