Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2017, 04:38 AM   #1
BeniJmnz
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Default Discarding when you don't need to give Charity

If i'm the lowest level player (i don't need to give charity to anybody), can i discard any card of my hand if i don't need to do this?
(It could be good to avoid Cleric to use the top card in discard pile)

Last edited by Andrew Hackard; 09-07-2017 at 08:35 AM.
BeniJmnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 08:36 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Discarding when you don't need to give Charity

You cannot discard cards from your hand unless a rule allows it. Charity allows you to discard to get down to five cards; if you're already at five or fewer cards, you cannot discard just because you want to.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 05:18 AM   #3
Hawker06
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Default Re: Discarding when you don't need to give Charity

When you are the lowest, Discard to whom?
Discard pile?
Do cards discarded give you the treasures stated on card?
When you discard, can you put them into play on your character or must they go to other players or the discard pile?
Hawker06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 10:58 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Discarding when you don't need to give Charity

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawker06 View Post
When you are the lowest, Discard to whom?
Discard pile?
Yes, that's what "discard" means. If we meant give them to another player, we would have said that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawker06 View Post
Do cards discarded give you the treasures stated on card?
No. You're discarding them, not playing them. And if you're talking about monsters, you aren't fighting them so they don't give you any rewards.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawker06 View Post
When you discard, can you put them into play on your character or must they go to other players or the discard pile?
If you're trying to avoid Charity, you may play cards as allowed by the rules to get your hand size down to five cards. For instance, you could play a Class or Race, play an Item, or play a Curse on yourself or another player. You can also sell Items from your hand if you have enough (or can add enough from your Items in play) to reach 1,000 Gold Pieces and you're eligible to sell for a level.

If you can't reduce your hand size through those methods, or you don't want to, you must discard the excess cards if you are the lowest Level or give them to the lowest-Level player if not.

That's Charity. If you're discarding for any other reason (to power a card's ability or because a Curse or Bad Stuff forces you to, for instance), you just discard the cards to the discard pile.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 09:18 PM   #5
Hawker06
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Default Re: Discarding when you don't need to give Charity

Thank you Andrew.
Very new to this and trying to teach my kids how to play.
Sorry if they sound silly, but just need to be sure, that what I am doing is correct.
Thank you for your time
Adam
Hawker06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.