Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS > GURPS Character Assistant

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2020, 01:34 PM   #1
corwyn
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Default Encumbrance

Is there a way to tell gca to ignore weight for certain items, say, things I can drop as a free action in combat?
__________________
MiB 7704

Running: DF RPG/Steampunk
Running: DF RPG Nordlond
Playing: DF RPG Musketeers
Playing: GURPS Uplift?
corwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 01:46 PM   #2
Stormcrow
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ronkonkoma, NY
Default Re: Encumbrance

Create a new loadout called "In Combat" and don't include those items you plan to drop during combat. Swap loadouts when combat occurs.
Stormcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 02:10 PM   #3
ericbsmith
 
ericbsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Binghamton, NY, USA. Near the river Styx in the 5th Circle.
Default Re: Encumbrance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormcrow View Post
Create a new loadout called "In Combat" and don't include those items you plan to drop during combat. Swap loadouts when combat occurs.
This.

The Load-Out manager can be found under View -> Load-Outs from the top menu or by clicking the Box icon from the toolbar. You can have as many load-outs as you need for your character, and it can be easier to set up load-outs if you group items together as parent/child items on the character first. For instance, make all the items in a backpack the child of the backpack; this way when you go into the Load-Out Manager you merely need to select the
backpack or not for each load-out.
__________________
Eric B. Smith GURPS Data File Coordinator
GURPSLand
The future keeps telling us what the past was about. You make the past mean different things by what you do with the time that comes after.
ericbsmith is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 02:12 PM   #4
corwyn
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Default Re: Encumbrance

Got it, thanks.
__________________
MiB 7704

Running: DF RPG/Steampunk
Running: DF RPG Nordlond
Playing: DF RPG Musketeers
Playing: GURPS Uplift?
corwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 03:17 PM   #5
corwyn
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Default Re: Encumbrance

So when I load my Combat Load, it shows on my character sheet as Encumbrance 0, full Dodge/Move (so far, so good), but on my weapon table, Fencing weapons are still taking a 1 pt hit - full load is Enc 1.
__________________
MiB 7704

Running: DF RPG/Steampunk
Running: DF RPG Nordlond
Playing: DF RPG Musketeers
Playing: GURPS Uplift?
corwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 05:50 PM   #6
ericbsmith
 
ericbsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Binghamton, NY, USA. Near the river Styx in the 5th Circle.
Default Re: Encumbrance

First, make sure you chose the correct Encumbrance Load-Out in the Load-Out Manager.

Second, there is an issue where changing Encumbrance Load-Out doesn't fully update the characters stats. This means that the skill scores on the combat table won't update until you do something to force a recalculation; either changing the level of a trait (attribute, skill, advantage, etc) or doing a Tools -> Recalculate (or F5).
__________________
Eric B. Smith GURPS Data File Coordinator
GURPSLand
The future keeps telling us what the past was about. You make the past mean different things by what you do with the time that comes after.
ericbsmith is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 10:06 PM   #7
corwyn
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Default Re: Encumbrance

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericbsmith View Post
First, make sure you chose the correct Encumbrance Load-Out in the Load-Out Manager.

Second, there is an issue where changing Encumbrance Load-Out doesn't fully update the characters stats. This means that the skill scores on the combat table won't update until you do something to force a recalculation; either changing the level of a trait (attribute, skill, advantage, etc) or doing a Tools -> Recalculate (or F5).
This last one fixed it, thanks.
__________________
MiB 7704

Running: DF RPG/Steampunk
Running: DF RPG Nordlond
Playing: DF RPG Musketeers
Playing: GURPS Uplift?
corwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.