Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Ogre and G.E.V.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2017, 04:10 PM   #111
GranitePenguin
 
GranitePenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Plainfield, IL
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Another mounted INF clarification appears to be necessary.
5.11.2 ...If the vehicle + infantry combination is fired on, the attacker makes one die roll for each attack on the combination, but calculates the odds separately for the vehicle and all the infantry and applies the results separately.
One thing that is missing (in the errata or the FAQ) is whether or not the INF that's mounted gets terrain bonuses for defense.

It's arguable that INF defensive bonus comes from their ability to scatter; INF on a tank can't scatter, so they should not get a bonus from the terrain.

However, it's also arguable (and from a KISS perspective, easier) that terrain defensive bonuses should apply in all cases, regardless if the INF is mounted or not.

I can honestly say I'm divided on which way to go with this.
__________________
GranitePenguin
MIB #2214
GranitePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 10:10 PM   #112
selenite
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Hmmm.

An INF rides a HVY into a town hex and they're attacked. The HVY is automatically 2x DEF.

The INF is:
A. Normal DEF because it can't scatter.
B. 2x DEF because it's using the cover the HVY found.
C. 3x DEF because it's in a town.

There's a case to be made for each of those options. I'd prefer C for KISS. Having a situation where the INF gets less terrain shelter than the tank it's riding feels wrong to me.
selenite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 10:28 PM   #113
ColBosch
 
ColBosch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

I always vote for KISS, even if it's not strictly realistic.
__________________
Keeper of the GURPS Banner
See my Ogre collections!
https://flic.kr/s/aHsmcLnb7v and https://flic.kr/s/aHsksV83ZP
ColBosch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 07:24 AM   #114
dwalend
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by selenite View Post
Hmmm.

An INF rides a HVY into a town hex and they're attacked. The HVY is automatically 2x DEF.

The INF is:
A. Normal DEF because it can't scatter.
B. 2x DEF because it's using the cover the HVY found.
C. 3x DEF because it's in a town.

There's a case to be made for each of those options. I'd prefer C for KISS. Having a situation where the INF gets less terrain shelter than the tank it's riding feels wrong to me.
B seems the most reasonable to me, and better for future extensions. (For C - the INF have to get off the tank for 3x defense. )
dwalend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 08:51 AM   #115
GranitePenguin
 
GranitePenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Plainfield, IL
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by selenite View Post
I'd prefer C for KISS. Having a situation where the INF gets less terrain shelter than the tank it's riding feels wrong to me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwalend View Post
B seems the most reasonable to me, and better for future extensions. (For C - the INF have to get off the tank for 3x defense. )
I should clarify what I originally meant by they can't scatter was "INF can't get their own standard defense bonus from terrain", not "they get no bonus at all".

ie, they should get the defense bonus of the vehicle they are riding (option B).
__________________
GranitePenguin
MIB #2214
GranitePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 02:19 PM   #116
GranitePenguin
 
GranitePenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Plainfield, IL
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

I've got another "missing" rule:

Terrain Effects Table errata:

What are the terrain defensive bonuses for static HWZ? It's stated as 2x in 7.14.2 since it falls under "all other units", but it's not actually listed in the terrain chart; mostly because HWZ don't move).
__________________
GranitePenguin
MIB #2214

Last edited by GranitePenguin; 11-13-2017 at 02:33 PM.
GranitePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 02:28 PM   #117
GranitePenguin
 
GranitePenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Plainfield, IL
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Rules Errata request:

Change
"8.06 Movement and stacking before overruns"
to
"8.06 Movement and stacking during overruns"
There's a lot of confusion about stacking limits post-overrun because of the poor naming of this section. Seeing "Before" implies there's a different section for "during" or "after." Changing it to "during" should make it more likely for people to find general stacking limit details.
__________________
GranitePenguin
MIB #2214
GranitePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 01:54 PM   #118
Mack_JB
 
Mack_JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Pulling this thread up to the fore.

Is there any update on the LAD (Light Artillery Drone) rules?

I have the 2016 file that SJG released, but can't see anything recent in the archives in terms of discussion of the unit.

Mainly I'm asking this: If the LAD is set someplace at game beginning, palletized as a potential defensive unit, do you just say "I am activating these now", or do you roll a die for activation (1-3 = no, 4-6 = yes)? Begin the game with them already emplaced and activated? If palletized and they automatically set themselves up, I am thinking that they start setting up on their Turn 1, and can fire on their Turn 2?

Thoughts?
Mack_JB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 04:18 PM   #119
HeatDeath
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

These are the most current LAD rules: http://www.sjgames.com/ogre/new-units/lad.html

And yep, it looks like you just say "I am activating it" at the beginning of your turn. It will spend that turn unpacking itself. You can fire it next turn. No die roll for activation - a palletized LAD isn't disabled and trying to recover. it's just folded up.

The rules text could probably make this a little clearer, but this is almost certainly how it works - basically steps 2 and 3 of the unloading and setup process.
HeatDeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2017, 03:16 PM   #120
Leonidas
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Milan, Italy
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Leonidas needs help here. I am having an issue with SHVY Tanks. I see that multiple D results have no effect. However, if a SHVY Tank (disabled in the previous turn) gets a disabled result as a side outcome on his optional damage chart (and not on the standard CRT), I should just ignore it? And the SHVY tank will recover as nothing has happened. I understand that multiple or subsequent D results on CRT do not are ignored and the SHVY tank will recover based on the timing of the first D result. However, a disabled status on the optional damage chart can happen only after a X result which allows to do the second roll on the optional damage chart. Are these situations always treated the same?

Second issue about troop transport. I am wondering if it would make more sense if the INF could dismount the vehicle on any adjacent hex, and then stop. Any thoughts on this?

Many thanks.

Leonidas
Leonidas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.