Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 05-11-2013, 09:42 PM   #1
AcetheSuperVillain

Default GURPS Fairy Tail

I'm new to GURPS, but the first thing I thought as I started reading was, "I bet I could make Fairy Tail with this". I hoping some more experienced GURPSers can help me brainstorm this and point me to the right books. I'd also like to help develop some source books or Pyramid articles if I can do so legally. I saw a few posts here about Fairy Tail's Dragon Slayers, but this is just a small part of the Fairy Tail world.

You can watch Fairy Tail on Hulu: http://www.hulu.com/fairy-tail Hulu and Funimation currently have 52 episodes, but the show has 175 episodes and is still going.

You can get a lot of info on Fairy Tail here: http://fairytail.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page but LOTS of spoilers! Includes blow-by-blow coverage of episodes, which might help when trying to work out how some of their magic works.

Basically, Fairy Tail is a cross between MMOish Low Fantasy and Super Heroes. Magic is ubiquitous across the Kingdom of Fiore, used by everyone and sold at every shop and street corner. People who specialize in the use of magic are called Wizards. Wizards assemble into Guilds where they accept jobs from the general populace, and complete them for a fee.

Although magic is accessible to everyone, and falls into several overarching categories, the expression of each form of magic is unique to the wizard casting it. A great example of this in the show is the magical styles of Grey and Leon. Despite being trained by the same teacher to use the same form of magic (Ice Maker) they both have very distinctive sets of spell. Grey specializes in recreating inanimate objects, while Leon recreates living things. Perfect for a table-top RPG and especially perfect for GURPS.