Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Other Munchkin Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2011, 06:55 PM   #1
kosbour
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default Cheat Questions

a. - If I have a Cheated! item and for some reason be forced to drop it, the Cheat! card stays with the dropped item or is discarded?

b. - Can I use the +3 Two-handed! card on a Cheated! 2-handed weapon?

c. - If I have a Cheated!, +1 Flaming! weapon can I use it on the Frost Giant?

d. - Can I use Cheated! magic items in the Anti-magic room or enter the Twisty Tunnel with Cheated! big items?

e. - If I enter the Fan Club room with a Cheated! item that grants me the Flight power do I roll one fewer die?

f. - If I am carrying a Cheated! Sword of Slaying Everything Except Squid and encounter a Tentacled monster do I have to drop the sword, suffer the -10 combat bonus or both?

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 11-09-2011 at 08:15 PM.
kosbour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:16 PM   #2
stopyelling
 
stopyelling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default Re: Cheat Questions

Pretty sure this answers all your questions:

http://forums.sjgames.com/showpost.p...22&postcount=4

Quote:
The Cheat! card does not change the inherent nature of the Item on which it is played (with the exception of specific types of Enhancers, see below). A Big Item is still Big, even if you have Cheat! on it. The same goes for Armor (it's still Armor), same for Headgear (it's still Headgear), same for an Elf-only Item (it's still Elf-only), and so on. The player of a Cheat!-ed Item simply ignores any restrictions caused by the type of Item that it is. So, as an example: Playing Cheat! on a Big Item does not make it no longer Big, so it can be lost to Curses/Traps/Bad Stuff that take Big Items, and it can not be stolen by a Thief (or someone with the theft meta-ability).
a. No

b. Yes

c. No

d. No

e. The item still is a Flight item, so act accordingly

f. Yes
__________________
http://imgur.com/lvsGm - My Collection

http://imgur.com/Z95Hk - Make everyone know I am boss while playing
stopyelling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:27 PM   #3
kosbour
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default Re: Cheat Questions

a. Which is it, stays on or is discarded?

b. If the Cheat! card does not change the inherent nature of the Item on which it is played, then an 2-handed item is still considered 2-handed after playing Cheat! on it, so No....the same thing with Big Items, they don't cost you move penalties but are still considered Big for other purposes.

e. I read in another thread an official ruling which says that if I have a Cheated! Swiss Army Polearm and fight 1 tiny and 1 huge monster I can still use it and roll the extra 2 dice....Isn't this a similar case?

f. Which is it, one or both of them?
kosbour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 04:47 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Cheat Questions

The Cheat! card in Munchkin isn't the same as the Cheat card in Munchkin Quest. NEVER assume that rulings from one game carry over to the other.

(And to answer an implied question from earlier, MunchkinMan and I haven't tackled the flood of MQ questions because we're both kind of busy -- I have lots of products to send to print before the end of the year, and I'm not about to speak for him about what he's doing. Sorry that these couldn't take precedence; we'll get to them when we can.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 07:33 PM   #5
kosbour
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default Re: Cheat Questions

No hard feelings there....
I just explained why I posted so MANY questions on the forum...it's because we need the official ruling for these questions so we can keep playing the game the right way

p.s. I have only played the card game once...I don't know the exact rules that apply there
kosbour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 08:24 PM   #6
stopyelling
 
stopyelling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default Re: Cheat Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
The Cheat! card in Munchkin isn't the same as the Cheat card in Munchkin Quest. NEVER assume that rulings from one game carry over to the other.

(And to answer an implied question from earlier, MunchkinMan and I haven't tackled the flood of MQ questions because we're both kind of busy -- I have lots of products to send to print before the end of the year, and I'm not about to speak for him about what he's doing. Sorry that these couldn't take precedence; we'll get to them when we can.)
Oh.. then I guess I need to know this answer as well since my group started to get really into MQ! Look forward to the rulings.
__________________
http://imgur.com/lvsGm - My Collection

http://imgur.com/Z95Hk - Make everyone know I am boss while playing
stopyelling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 10:18 PM   #7
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Cheat Questions

My wife and I are staff on a convention, and we are missing half our staff for the con this weekend, so we've been taking on double duties, including prep work this past week, and that's only half of what's been on my plate for this week, let alone this month... :-/
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 08:53 AM   #8
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Cheat Questions

Rather than address potential errors or misconceptions, I'm not not going to read anything that's come before and just leave official answers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kosbour View Post
a. - If I have a Cheated! item and for some reason be forced to drop it, the Cheat! card stays with the dropped item or is discarded?
Cheat gets discarded. It says so on the card in the last sentence.

Quote:
b. - Can I use the +3 Two-handed! card on a Cheated! 2-handed weapon?
No. It's still a Weapon that requires 2 Hands, not 1.

Quote:
c. - If I have a Cheated!, +1 Flaming! weapon can I use it on the Frost Giant?

d. - Can I use Cheated! magic items in the Anti-magic room or enter the Twisty Tunnel with Cheated! big items?

e. - If I enter the Fan Club room with a Cheated! item that grants me the Flight power do I roll one fewer die?

f. - If I am carrying a Cheated! Sword of Slaying Everything Except Squid and encounter a Tentacled monster do I have to drop the sword, suffer the -10 combat bonus or both?
I'm going to say that these all fall under the definitions of disadvantages. Therefore the sentence, "You get all its advantages and none of its disadvantages," guides me to say: c. Yes, d. Yes, e. No, f. No.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 02:14 PM   #9
kosbour
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default Re: Cheat Questions

I ran through the forum and found this thread http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread...ighlight=cheat

and these phrases hit me:
"Cheat! removes any prohibitions on use that stem from the wielder, but does not apply to any external conditions." (by Andrew)

"Cheat doesn't remove (nor does it fully imply that it removes) a keyword from an Item." (by MunchkinMan)

If this is the case then I would say:

c. No

d. No

f. Yes

Is this correct??
kosbour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 07:24 PM   #10
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: Cheat Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
No. It's still a Weapon that requires 2 Hands, not 1.
Doesn't the MQ version of Cheat! grants the biggest bonus?
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.