Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Other Munchkin Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2011, 08:52 AM   #11
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Newbie--a few questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Even if there are no bases available, you must still roll the Monster Die to see if a player gets a DxM. (The same is true for Monster Movement when there are no monsters on the board, BTW.)
Doesn't the rule, quoted by MM, say the rolled player color does not get the DxM if there are no bases for the color?
Brf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 09:05 AM   #12
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Newbie--a few questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brf View Post
Doesn't the rule, quoted by MM, say the rolled player color does not get the DxM if there are no bases for the color?
Not quite. It says that the player of the finally chosen base color doesn't get a DxM just because you chose his color. If your color comes up on the Monster Die, you get a DxM, always. (See p. 17 of the rules, Getting Cards, Deus ex Munchkin.) Let me quote the relevant portions of the whole paragraph for this issue in a numbered list.
  1. Roll the Monster Die to see what color its base is (the player of that color gets a DxM).
  2. If no bases of the rolled color are available, you get to choose the base – but the player of the chosen color does not get a DxM!

Sentence 1 happens first. The player of the color rolled gets a DxM. Obviously, if the color rolled doesn't apply to any available player, no one gets a DxM. If you roll the color of a current player and all their bases are used, they still get the DxM, and you must choose a different base color, but that second player does not get a DxM. If you roll a color not being used for this game, again, you must choose a base color from those available, and that player doesn't get a DxM.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 04-17-2011 at 10:23 AM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 06:59 AM   #13
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Newbie--a few questions

Gotcha.
It is the roll that triggers the DxM draw, not the base assignment.
Brf is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.