Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Other Munchkin Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2008, 03:23 PM   #1
elpelepele
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Library/laboratory room

The question I have for these tiles comes from the wording of the last sentence of each room

"You may only buy Scrolls/Potions that are in the discard pile when you enter the room.

What happens if you start your turn in the room? Can you still make a deal or can you only make a deal as you enter the room? If you can make the deal, what scrolls/potions can you purchace? (Timing) Ones that were in the discard when you started your turn, or only ones that were in the pile when you entered the room.
elpelepele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 03:30 PM   #2
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: Library/laboratory room

I think you are interpretating it wrong. I'd say that the potion and scrolls have to be in the discard pile when you enter the room. This means that if you fight while in the room, and use scrolls or potions from your hand, you cannot get them back, unless you leave the room and come in again.
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 03:56 PM   #3
rek075
 
rek075's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Default Re: Library/laboratory room

Agreed. The original intention was probably to prevent use of potions and re-purchase of them right away.
rek075 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 05:41 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Library/laboratory room

Well, right after combat was over with the munchkin winning, since one can't make deals when a Monster is present.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 09:29 AM   #5
elpelepele
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Re: Library/laboratory room

This was much later in the game. The room had been opened up early in the game and the munchkin moved into the room at the very end of the game with his last move token. He couldn't make the deal during that turn so when he started his next turn he tried to buy a scroll. There was much loud arguing but at the end, the owner of the game made a rulling that he could not make a deal because he had not entered the room. That what my question was about. I know that the intention of the rule on the tile was worded so that you can't buy back scrolls/potions that you used in combat when you kick down the door.

How do you read "when you enter the room" when you start there?
elpelepele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 11:15 AM   #6
Houston MIB
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Re: Library/laboratory room

In my opinion, the wording is pretty clear. "When you enter the room" means exactly what it says. If you start your turn in the room, you're already there. Therefore, effects triggered by entering a room would not trigger if one were already present in said room at the start of one's turn.
__________________
Andrew Faulkner
MIB 0160
Houston
"A proud Steve Jackson Games volunteer"

Last edited by Houston MIB; 12-31-2008 at 11:22 AM.
Houston MIB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 12:15 PM   #7
worms919
 
worms919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default Re: Library/laboratory room

Actually I think Bone got it right. "when you enter the room" is NOT a condition of when you can make the deal, but of what potions you are allowed to buy. Perhaps a more accurate wording could be: "You may only buy Scrolls/Potions that were in the discard pile when you entered the room.
worms919 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 12:33 PM   #8
Houston MIB
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Re: Library/laboratory room

Oops! I was a little unclear about my answer, I was referring specifically to the phrase "When you enter the room" in regards to the availability of potions or scrolls when one chooses to make a deal after entering the room. As far as actually making a deal, that could have been the start of one's turn if one so chose.
__________________
Andrew Faulkner
MIB 0160
Houston
"A proud Steve Jackson Games volunteer"
Houston MIB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 08:46 AM   #9
elpelepele
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Re: Library/laboratory room

So would you all agree that "when you enter the room" as a qualification of which potions/scrolls you can choose from when you make the deal can basically be replaced with "at the start of your turn" when you start in this type of room.
elpelepele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 09:25 AM   #10
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: Library/laboratory room

No. You can Trade the potions and scrolls at any time during in your own turn. The expression "when you enter the room" refer to the potions/scrolls that can be bought.
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.