Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin Collectible Card Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2018, 09:10 AM   #1
PJ3
 
PJ3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Default Clarification on Allies

I was asked how allies work, and I want to be sure I was correct in my answer:

If you commit an Ally to a fight, then all damage is directed his way. If there is more than enough damage (after any defense from Loot) to squish the Ally, then any excess is lost and does not hit the Hero.
__________________
John Moore

"Where are we going and why am I in this handbasket?"
PJ3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 09:15 AM   #2
Devin Lewis
Munchkin CCG Designer
 
Devin Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin
Default Re: Clarification on Allies

That's mostly correct. All the damage not prevented by abilities or blocked by Weapons is dealt to the Ally. Even if the Ally only has 2 Life, it takes all 5 damage (for example).

It's a very fine distinction, but necessary.
__________________
Devin Lewis || Munchkin CCG Designer, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin
Devin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 03:21 PM   #3
my6AM3RTA6
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Default Re: Clarification on Allies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devin Lewis View Post
That's mostly correct. All the damage not prevented by abilities or blocked by Weapons is dealt to the Ally. Even if the Ally only has 2 Life, it takes all 5 damage (for example).

It's a very fine distinction, but necessary.
I'd refer to Section E as well... E.1.2 and E.1.3 explain what Devin pointed out and clarify further if multiple Allies are committed.
my6AM3RTA6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 10:37 AM   #4
Owzat1982
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Default Re: Clarification on Allies

If an ally takes damage but not enough to squish does the damage stay on the ally forever or does it get removed at the next warm up phase.
Owzat1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 04:47 PM   #5
Trapt888
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Default Re: Clarification on Allies

I would like that information also!
Trapt888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 07:12 PM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Clarification on Allies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Owzat1982 View Post
If an ally takes damage but not enough to squish does the damage stay on the ally forever or does it get removed at the next warm up phase.
The damage stays on the Ally.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 08:14 PM   #7
Trapt888
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Default Re: Clarification on Allies

So it returns to the hoard with the damage counters?
Trapt888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 08:22 PM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Clarification on Allies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trapt888 View Post
So it returns to the hoard with the damage counters?
Yes. Remember that Allies don't go to the stash; if they survive a fight, they return to the hoard immediately (but are still zapped and cannot be committed again that turn unless something is able to unzap them).
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 04:42 AM   #9
Owzat1982
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Default Re: Clarification on Allies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Yes. Remember that Allies don't go to the stash; if they survive a fight, they return to the hoard immediately (but are still zapped and cannot be committed again that turn unless something is able to unzap them).
OK, just to clarify (sorry). Both allies and weapons are one use per turn only. When committing them to a fight you are Zapping them and they remain zapped until your next warm up phase when they become unzapped.

The exceptions to this are if the Allies/Weapons have an unzap ability (for example Machine Bow pay 1 gold to Unzap or Repeat offender roll 4-6 to unzap) .
Owzat1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 06:28 AM   #10
PJ3
 
PJ3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Default Re: Clarification on Allies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Owzat1982 View Post
OK, just to clarify (sorry). Both allies and weapons are one use per turn only. When committing them to a fight you are Zapping them and they remain zapped until your next warm up phase when they become unzapped.

The exceptions to this are if the Allies/Weapons have an unzap ability (for example Machine Bow pay 1 gold to Unzap or Repeat offender roll 4-6 to unzap) .
That's the way I understand 'em (unless they get squished)
__________________
John Moore

"Where are we going and why am I in this handbasket?"
PJ3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.