Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin Collectible Card Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2018, 06:15 PM   #1
PJ3
 
PJ3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Default Question on icons

I understand the icons represent what class a particular card is intended for, but is it exclusively for that class? (e.g. can a Warrior deck use Wizard cards?)
__________________
John Moore

"Where are we going and why am I in this handbasket?"
PJ3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 11:13 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Question on icons

A constructed deck may only contain cards specific to the hero for that deck and neutral cards. (Even if you use a neutral Wanderer hero, you are limited to a single set of class cards.)

To answer your specific question, no, you can't use Wizard cards in a Warrior deck.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 11:16 PM   #3
Trapt888
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Default Re: Question on icons

Wait. So If I use wandering goldfish, I can pick a class set of cards in addition to neutral?
Trapt888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 11:20 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Question on icons

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trapt888 View Post
Wait. So If I use wandering goldfish, I can pick a class set of cards in addition to neutral?
In constructed play, yes, a Wanderer is a legal Hero and you may select a single Class whose cards may be used with it.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 07:34 AM   #5
PJ3
 
PJ3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Default Re: Question on icons

That's what I thought, but I wanted to be certain. Thanks
__________________
John Moore

"Where are we going and why am I in this handbasket?"
PJ3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 03:18 PM   #6
Bithlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Default Re: Question on icons

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
In constructed play, yes, a Wanderer is a legal Hero and you may select a single Class whose cards may be used with it.
Wait, what? I asked before the game came out (so it could have been changed) if the neutral heroes were legal in constructed play and was informed that they were for sealed/draft only.

Are they actually effectively any class?
Bithlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 05:08 PM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Question on icons

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bithlord View Post
Wait, what? I asked before the game came out (so it could have been changed) if the neutral heroes were legal in constructed play and was informed that they were for sealed/draft only.
At the time, that's what we were thinking. We've since decided that's unduly restrictive.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 10:05 AM   #8
Bithlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Default Re: Question on icons

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
At the time, that's what we were thinking. We've since decided that's unduly restrictive.
Intersting. LIkely not worth doing, since their powers are a bit weak, but it is interesting.
Bithlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 06:17 AM   #9
ClassicFrog
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Default Re: Question on icons

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bithlord View Post
Intersting. LIkely not worth doing, since their powers are a bit weak, but it is interesting.
it makes these locations a little more "includeable":
http://munchkinccg.game/gameplay/car...=Season+1+Core

since if it gets squished now you can stick it back into your draw deck and play a new one

also these cards get more potential
http://munchkinccg.game/gameplay/car...=Season+1+Core

you might be right that the power is a little weak compared to other powers but depending on what kinds of similar effects we will see moving forward it could be very powerful. for now its probably fine.
ClassicFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.