Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Ogre and G.E.V.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2018, 10:38 PM   #161
pzmcgwire
 
pzmcgwire's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

A couple of things to ponder with all the new additions in ODE.

Now that there are rules for reloading Ogre external missiles, should there be a different notation for fired external missiles vs. destroyed external missiles?

Easy enough to put a house rule in, but should it be explicitly written out in the rulebook?

In a campaign type scenarios, shooting at empty missile tubes might be worth doing to further hamper an enemy Ogre? If so what would be the defense factor for an empty external missile tube?

Secondly with the advent of record sheets for superheavy tanks and other specialized units with 1 shot special firing capabilities and other capabilities (here's looking at you Marine Engineers) , is it time to add unique identifiers (i.e. a number like 101) to counters in a future printing?

How do folks distinguish superheavy tanks and other units now?
pzmcgwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 08:19 AM   #162
HeatDeath
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

When I play with Mk 1s, which have the same problem, I tend to go with "the one on the left flank", "the one in the middle" and "the one on the right flank."

Probably not scalable to an entire company though. :)

This is where the numbered counters would come in handy.
HeatDeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 08:50 AM   #163
TheAmishStig
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lancaster, PA
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pzmcgwire View Post
A couple of things to ponder with all the new additions in ODE.

Now that there are rules for reloading Ogre external missiles, should there be a different notation for fired external missiles vs. destroyed external missiles?

Easy enough to put a house rule in, but should it be explicitly written out in the rulebook?

In a campaign type scenarios, shooting at empty missile tubes might be worth doing to further hamper an enemy Ogre? If so what would be the defense factor for an empty external missile tube?

Secondly with the advent of record sheets for superheavy tanks and other specialized units with 1 shot special firing capabilities and other capabilities (here's looking at you Marine Engineers) , is it time to add unique identifiers (i.e. a number like 101) to counters in a future printing?

How do folks distinguish superheavy tanks and other units now?
Good question! Vulcans have been around for a few years...denoting 'Fired' vs 'Destroyed' has always been left up to the individual groups of players to decide what their standard is rather than writing some sort of official rules. I haven't been put in that position yet [no Vulcans :( ], but would personally put an X or a / (depending on how fine the tip of the marker is) in boxes to denote 'Fired', and filling in the box to denote 'Destroyed'...so that it's easy enough to change the mark from one to the other with no ambiguity over which is which. Another thing that keeps ambiguity down and makes the bookkeeping easier...cross off Fired from left to right, and Destroyed from right to left [unless the opponent specifically targets an empty tube], that way you can tell at a glance how many of each [plus how many intact] there are.

For tracking specific units I was lucky enough to get my hands on the Black Rose counter set from ODE, all of which have a name. In situations where I absolutely have to be able to tell them apart [such as fielding a swarm of superheavies with partial damage rules], I'll use those counters to remove ambiguity.

Since that's not an option for everybody, and if I ever end up in a situation where both sides have a swarm like that...I'd get a bunch of sharpies or highlighters in different colors, and color in the edges of the counters. That way on the partial damage sheets I could write "Red", "Blue", "Green", etc. Also prevents the headaches of having to write on already-tight counters, or the potential that the writing [or daub of paint, or whatever] would wear off over time.

HWTs have a 'fired' status on the reverse. Can't swap them straight-up for a 1/1 infantry counter because of tracking VP of units destroyed, but it's easy enough to put the HWT Fired counter under an Infantry counter to note which one it's moving with.
__________________
Andy Mull
Agent #0460
Lancaster, PA

Imgur: https://agent0460.imgur.com/
TheAmishStig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 07:38 AM   #164
offsides
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cheltenham, PA
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pzmcgwire View Post
In a campaign type scenarios, shooting at empty missile tubes might be worth doing to further hamper an enemy Ogre? If so what would be the defense factor for an empty external missile tube?
Same either way. The D value is on the launcher, not the missile itself.
__________________
Joshua Megerman, SJGames MIB #5273 - Ogre AI Testing Division
offsides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 05:37 PM   #165
Tom H.
 
Tom H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Austin Area
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

(There's nothing like receiving a new supplement, Ogre Mini Set 2, to get you back into a shelved game.)

Rules Question:

Is a unit that is disabled due to terrain destroyed when it receives its first 'D' combat result?
Tom H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 09:26 PM   #166
ColBosch
 
ColBosch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom H. View Post
(There's nothing like receiving a new supplement, Ogre Mini Set 2, to get you back into a shelved game.)

Rules Question:

Is a unit that is disabled due to terrain destroyed when it receives its first 'D' combat result?
Per the rules, yes. Note that Ogres aren't disabled by terrain, but can get Stuck; the difference is intentional.
__________________
Keeper of the GURPS Banner
See my Ogre collections!
https://flic.kr/s/aHsmcLnb7v and https://flic.kr/s/aHsksV83ZP
ColBosch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 10:16 PM   #167
Tom H.
 
Tom H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Austin Area
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColBosch View Post
Per the rules, yes. Note that Ogres aren't disabled by terrain, but can get Stuck; the difference is intentional.
Hey, thanks for the reply.

From my reading, I thought the rules could be a little ambiguous.

Referring to the latest Ogre Battle Box Web Rules:

Page 16 indicates that the destruction occurs "if it receives another D result while disabled." "Another D" could imply the first disable needed to be combat result induced.

Also, the bottom of page 11 reinforces the fact that in general how a unit becomes disabled may matter.

Note: I use my original Designer Edition rules, but noted that the above references did not change between the versions.
Tom H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 09:51 AM   #168
GranitePenguin
 
GranitePenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Plainfield, IL
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom H. View Post
Hey, thanks for the reply.

From my reading, I thought the rules could be a little ambiguous.

Referring to the latest Ogre Battle Box Web Rules:

Page 16 indicates that the destruction occurs "if it receives another D result while disabled." "Another D" could imply the first disable needed to be combat result induced.

Also, the bottom of page 11 reinforces the fact that in general how a unit becomes disabled may matter.

Note: I use my original Designer Edition rules, but noted that the above references did not change between the versions.
It's not ambiguous; a "D" is a "D", regardless of where it comes from. The game does not make a distinction between disabled by an attack vs disabled by terrain; the resulting disable is identical. "if it receives another D result while disabled" means if it was disabled by terrain, a second D from an attack will kill it. It does not imply that the first D has to come from combat.

The whole point is if you risk disabling a unit by driving it into dangerous terrain, it is more likely to be destroyed by an attack on the following turn.
__________________
GranitePenguin
MIB #2214
GranitePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 11:17 AM   #169
ColBosch
 
ColBosch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Clever engineers can make one part do several things at once in a machine. SJ's game rules are much the same.
__________________
Keeper of the GURPS Banner
See my Ogre collections!
https://flic.kr/s/aHsmcLnb7v and https://flic.kr/s/aHsksV83ZP
ColBosch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 11:53 AM   #170
Tom H.
 
Tom H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Austin Area
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

More and more, it does appear that the intent is that being disabled by terrain does make a unit vulnerable to a 'D' combat result. (I checked the Ogre Miniature rules for comparison, and while not unambiguous, it seems to align more.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GranitePenguin View Post
It's not ambiguous; a "D" is a "D", regardless of where it comes from. The game does not make a distinction between disabled by an attack vs disabled by terrain; the resulting disable is identical.
To me, there is a condition named "disabled." I regard a 'D' specifically as a combat result code that may generate a disable.

There is at least a distinction in the type of disable for purposes of recovery from the condition.
Tom H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.