Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2018, 05:39 AM   #1
Pheo
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Default Gummi Golem and offer for help on winning level

Hello, sorry for my english

Bad Staff Gummi Golem currenting on player, and he should help even if someone goes to level 10?
Pheo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 04:17 PM   #2
Nobunga
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Southern Maryland
Default Re: Gummi Golem and offer for help on winning level

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pheo View Post
Hello, sorry for my english

Bad Staff Gummi Golem currenting on player, and he should help even if someone goes to level 10?
I could be wrong, but generally speaking, a Player is NEVER compelled to help another player gain the Winning Level, regardless of the source of compulsion.
Nobunga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 05:01 PM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Gummi Golem and offer for help on winning level

We are going to be putting out some rule changes later this month, and one of those changes is that you cannot be compelled to help someone win the game (and if you were already compelled to help in a fight that later becomes one for the winning level, you are bounced out).

So, no, someone suffering from the Gummi Golem's Bad Stuff would not be required to offer help to someone who is going to reach Level 10.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 11:26 PM   #4
Pheo
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Default Re: Gummi Golem and offer for help on winning level

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
We are going to be putting out some rule changes later this month, and one of those changes is that you cannot be compelled to help someone win the game (and if you were already compelled to help in a fight that later becomes one for the winning level, you are bounced out).

So, no, someone suffering from the Gummi Golem's Bad Stuff would not be required to offer help to someone who is going to reach Level 10.
Good! Please, one moment for my understanding. If the one on whom the сurrenting bad staff Gummi Golem is elf 9 level, should he help? And if he does not want to, should he fold the elf card to get out of the fight?

And one more question, If elf play card "Take Me" and enters the battle. Can the host fight out of it?
Pheo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 11:46 PM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Gummi Golem and offer for help on winning level

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pheo View Post
Good! Please, one moment for my understanding. If the one on whom the сurrenting bad staff Gummi Golem is elf 9 level, should he help? And if he does not want to, should he fold the elf card to get out of the fight?

And one more question, If elf play card "Take Me" and enters the battle. Can the host fight out of it?
If someone WANTS to help and their help is accepted, that's fine.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 12:12 AM   #6
Pheo
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Default Re: Gummi Golem and offer for help on winning level

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
If someone WANTS to help and their help is accepted, that's fine.
And if he does not want to help, should he fold the elf card to get out of the fight Or he can just walk away without dumping his elf card



And one more question, If elf play card "Take Me" and enters the battle. Can the host of fight out of it leaving in battle only a cunning elf?

Thanks you very much!

Last edited by Pheo; 07-09-2018 at 01:46 AM.
Pheo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 12:44 AM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Gummi Golem and offer for help on winning level

if the Elf doesn't want to help someone else win the game, she cannot be compelled to do so and she does not have to discard the Elf card (but she can if she wants to). However, if an Elf chooses to help and then changes her mind, too bad.

The main player can't get out of a fight unless he has a card that allows him to do so. If he does have such a card, the helper must also leave the fight unless the card specifically says the helper is still fighting.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 06:07 AM   #8
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Gummi Golem and offer for help on winning level

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pheo View Post
And one more question, If elf play card "Take Me" and enters the battle. Can the host fight out of it?
If the main player is not battling for the winning level, but asks for help --
Can a 9th level Elf play Take Me and force the other player to take them as a helper for the winning level?
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 07:54 AM   #9
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Gummi Golem and offer for help on winning level

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brf View Post
If the main player is not battling for the winning level, but asks for help --
Can a 9th level Elf play Take Me and force the other player to take them as a helper for the winning level?
That's...an interesting question. For now, I'm going to say yes, because the situation isn't exactly parallel - it's not forcing someone to join a combat you would otherwise lose, but forcing your way into a combat where help has already been solicited.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.