Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2015, 09:30 PM   #1
kbra16
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Default Curse misplace your race

If curse misplace your race is played on your current turn, does it last until the end of that turn or your next one?
kbra16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 04:33 AM   #2
MissMissy
 
Join Date: May 2018
Default Re: Curse misplace your race

Any word on this?
MissMissy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2019, 12:40 PM   #3
Ducallan
 
Join Date: May 2019
Default Re: Curse misplace your race

This came up in a game that just finished. I ruled that, like ‘next combat’, ‘next turn’ means current turn if the effect activates when it is your turn. Is this correct?

I am assuming that this applies when ‘next turn’ is the duration that an effect lasts or a point in time when the effect ends, but not when it refers to losing your next turn... you can’t really lose a turn that you are already in, after all...
Ducallan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2019, 12:54 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Curse misplace your race

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducallan View Post
This came up in a game that just finished. I ruled that, like ‘next combat’, ‘next turn’ means current turn if the effect activates when it is your turn. Is this correct?
Yes. Effects that can apply immediately do.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2019, 02:51 PM   #5
Ducallan
 
Join Date: May 2019
Default Re: Curse misplace your race

Thanks for confirming my ruling.

Does “lose your next turn” work differently, though, if it gets applied when it is already your turn? Do you lose your turn after this one, or does your current turn immediately end? Or should I ask this in a separate post?
Ducallan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2019, 02:56 PM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Curse misplace your race

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducallan View Post
Thanks for confirming my ruling.

Does “lose your next turn” work differently, though, if it gets applied when it is already your turn? Do you lose your turn after this one, or does your current turn immediately end? Or should I ask this in a separate post?
If it doesn't specify otherwise, assume the turn ends immediately. If it says something like "lose your next full turn," obviously that would have to be the next full turn if you're currently in a turn.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 12:01 PM   #7
Nobunga
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: College Park, Maryland
Default Re: Curse misplace your race

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
If it doesn't specify otherwise, assume the turn ends immediately. If it says something like "lose your next full turn," obviously that would have to be the next full turn if you're currently in a turn.
Does this apply to Kali's bad stuff as well? (Munchkin 3) I'd assume not since death effectively ends your turn anyway.
Nobunga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 12:30 PM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Curse misplace your race

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobunga View Post
Does this apply to Kali's bad stuff as well? (Munchkin 3) I'd assume not since death effectively ends your turn anyway.
If you fail to Run Away from Kali, you die and miss your next full turn, whenever that would have been.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
curse, misplace, next turn, race

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.