Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2015, 06:26 PM   #1
Ms Monny
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Default Noob question: charity

Hi all

So, Ive played a total of 3 games with my boys. There are a few issues that we are working through but one of the main ones we came across last night was the charity part. I was the lowest level of the three and my son had more than 5 cards in his hand, so he gave two to me....but that made me have more than 5 in my hand (some class/race and monsters). What do I do?? I ended up discarding my race/class that was in play just so I could use some in my hand.

Is this the correct thing to do??

BTW, I love this game, and so does my sons....but we are too kind and don't use too many cards against each other.....except for last night, the last game. Son was about to defeat a monster but my other son didn't want him to, so he was adding to the monsters level and because I wanted the game to finish (it was late), I was helping by adding to my sons level (used Pretty Balloons etc).
Now, I presume this can happen as well??

TIA
Ms Monny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 08:09 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Noob question: charity

Charity only happens at the end of your turn. At any other time, you may have as many cards in your hand as you like.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 07:06 AM   #3
Ms Monny
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Default Re: Noob question: charity

Yes, we did the'charity' thing at the end of his turn and he handed me 2 cards (me being the lowest level) to make his hand 5 cards. I then had too many cards and as I am the only one at the lowest level, I can't give them to anyone else....
so what do I do when I end up with too many cards, being the lowest level? By discarding my race that was in play, just so I could use up what was in my hand, is that what I am meant to do?
Ms Monny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 08:25 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Noob question: charity

You don't have to do ANYTHING at that moment. You do not have to worry about hand size until the end of your own turn.

If you are the lowest-Level player and have too many cards in your hand at the end of your turn, you can just discard extra cards out of your hand until you are down to five.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 11:03 AM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Noob question: charity

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ms Monny View Post
BTW, I love this game, and so does my sons....but we are too kind and don't use too many cards against each other.....except for last night, the last game. Son was about to defeat a monster but my other son didn't want him to, so he was adding to the monsters level and because I wanted the game to finish (it was late), I was helping by adding to my sons level (used Pretty Balloons etc).
Now, I presume this can happen as well??
Just to touch on this: Whether you are in the combat or not, you can aid or hinder either side by adding or subtracting from a side's combat strength by playing such cards.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 05:27 PM   #6
Ms Monny
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Default Re: Noob question: charity

Okay. Thats where the confusion was.....so if you are NOT the lowest level, at the end of your turn if you have more than 5 you pass the extra on to the lowest level. If you are the lowest level, at the end of the turn if you have more than 5 you DISCARD the extras. The rules didn't actually say this and I was not understanding the situation.
Ms Monny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 05:29 PM   #7
Ms Monny
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Default Re: Noob question: charity

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
Just to touch on this: Whether you are in the combat or not, you can aid or hinder either side by adding or subtracting from a side's combat strength by playing such cards.
so, you can give cards to a lower level (charity) that are can hinder their progress? Because they are in the hand, they are not in play, and can be discarded anyway, so how can it add or subtract from a sides combat strength?
Ms Monny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2015, 06:50 AM   #8
OneWoolyWombat
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Dallas
Default Re: Noob question: charity

The first few times playing can be a bit confusing with all the choices. When you get cards during charity you don't have to do anything right away. You can save them until your turn.
If there are several people playing you could use the cards you got during charity to affect the battles with the monsters. But you don't have to.
You could also just hold them and wait for your turn.
After all your actions are over on your turn, if you are the lowest level, and you have more than 5 cards, you just discard down to 5.
There are a couple of great demo videos, one on the sjgames site here:
http://www.worldofmunchkin.com/game/demo.html

Another can be found searching YouTube
OneWoolyWombat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2015, 07:26 AM   #9
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Noob question: charity

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ms Monny View Post
so, you can give cards to a lower level (charity) that are can hinder their progress? Because they are in the hand, they are not in play, and can be discarded anyway, so how can it add or subtract from a sides combat strength?
No. You cannot give charity during combat. Munchkinman is referring to playing cards into the combat. You can play one-shot items or modifiers into someone elses combat to help or hinder either side.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2015, 07:49 AM   #10
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Noob question: charity

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ms Monny View Post
so, you can give cards to a lower level (charity) that are can hinder their progress? Because they are in the hand, they are not in play, and can be discarded anyway, so how can it add or subtract from a sides combat strength?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brf View Post
No. You cannot give charity during combat. Munchkinman is referring to playing cards into the combat. You can play one-shot items or modifiers into someone elses combat to help or hinder either side.
Brf is correct, I was responding to the second half of your post, where you seemed to be asking if it was okay for you to increase your son's combat strength by playing one-shot Items which specifically say they can be played in any combat to assist either side.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.