Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin Collectible Card Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2019, 05:07 PM   #1
Majobasil
 
Majobasil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: West Virginia, USA
Default Rule question - Hairy Tick monster

https://munchkinccg.game/gameplay/ca...re/hairy-tick/

Is the purpose of this card to force your opponent to stash a loot before he can use it? If so that makes sense.

Otherwise, I don’t follow...
Majobasil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 11:35 PM   #2
Malkavman
 
Malkavman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Topeka, KS
Default Re: Rule question - Hairy Tick monster

It has several uses. For instance:

To remove a committed weapon from the fight before it could damage/kill the tick
To get rid of counters on your loot that would be squished if it gets too many counters on it.
To get rid of counters on opponents' loot that gets more powerful with each counter, or spends counters to fuel abilities.
__________________
-Brandon Murphy
MiB 0787

"I wouldn't even take a whiz on this! I used to DREAM of taking a whiz on this!" - The Monarch
Malkavman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 05:44 AM   #3
Majobasil
 
Majobasil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: West Virginia, USA
Default Re: Rule question - Hairy Tick monster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malkavman View Post
It has several uses. For instance:

To remove a committed weapon from the fight before it could damage/kill the tick
To get rid of counters on your loot that would be squished if it gets too many counters on it.
To get rid of counters on opponents' loot that gets more powerful with each counter, or spends counters to fuel abilities.
Ok thank you. When I see the word “stash” on a card it throws me off and makes me assume the ability only applies to the active player.

Could I basically read it as “if you overpaid for this, stash your own target loot or force your opponent to stash one of his loots” ?
Majobasil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 11:01 AM   #4
Aleph
Administrator
 
Aleph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Central Network
Default Re: Rule question - Hairy Tick monster

When a card says "target Loot" or "target Monster", it means any valid card of that type in play. If it says "target stashed Monster" or "target opponent Loot", then it is more specific.

From the Glossary section of the rules:

Stash
  • Move a card to its owner's stash. That card is stashed face-down unless a rule or ability specifies otherwise (for example, a Monster that survives a fight is stashed face-up). See II.A.12 – STASH.
    • When a card is stashed face down, move any tokens on that card to the stockpile, and move all Curses stuck to that card to their owner’s discard pile.
  • A zone in the game area that may contain any number of cards that are either in play (face-up) or out of play (face-down).

Target
  • Some abilities require the controller to choose one or more targets. A target is the Hero(es) or card(s) that particular ability will affect. If there is no available target, a card that requires a target may not be played. If there is no available target, an ability that requires a target may not be activated.
Aleph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.