Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2015, 05:59 PM   #1
omichron
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Playing cards in response to a "Discard All" curse?

This is hopefully a quick and simple question:

Deck: Adventure Time

Battle was underway with me and partner A ready to defeat the door monster. I played a "Curse! Razzamafoo!" card on player B as I had a suspicion that he was about to interfere with the battle before it was over.

This card forces the player to discard their entire hand.

In response, he PLAYED his entire hand on our battle, raising the monster level to ridiculous amount. He claimed that he was playing those cards in response to the curse card I played, which everyone else at the table disagreed with.

The claim was that if I had played that curse on him outside of combat, he couldn't play the monster cards in response, but as it was in combat, he could. This seems like the incorrect way to resolve that card in my view.

However, with him being the only one with real Munchkin experience and the rest of us trying to get the hang of the game, we ended up leaving it at that and we had to run away from combat instead.

Seems to me that he could have played a counter-curse card in response, but not play cards into combat in response to a curse card that forced him to discard his entire hand.

Thanks for any clarification.
omichron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2015, 08:50 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Playing cards in response to a "Discard All" curse?

You are correct. Your friend misinterpreted the rules.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 06:40 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Playing cards in response to a "Discard All" curse?

To be very clear: You can't normally play cards in response to anything in Munchkin. It doesn't use a stack-based card play mechanic and once a card is played, it's resolved and then discarded or remains in play, depending on the card's purpose. If you're affected by a Curse, you resolve the Curse immediately. Only cards that say they cancel something can actually be played before resolving what's to be canceled, since that's the cancelling card's purpose.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.