Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2015, 06:57 AM   #1
evikour
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Greece
Default Target of theft

As I was reading some old posts I got confused over one topic..
When a Thief is about to steal a small item does he have to announce which one and from whom he steals it or not? What is the official answer?
It would certainly be more fun to just roll the die and if he succeeds, then to let the party know what he steals!
Thank you!
evikour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 07:36 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Target of theft

The thief does not have to announce the target (person or Item) until the roll succeeds. However, the target may use a Reloaded Die or other method to foil the ability, if the target has one -- there aren't many! (Notably, you cannot use a preemptive Curse to take an Item away once a Thief has succeeded on the roll and declared which Item is being thieved. You have to be able to change the outcome of the roll or block the theft directly.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 08:20 AM   #3
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Target of theft

I think mechanically it does not matter too much whether the thief announces which Item will be targeted before or after the roll. There was some discussion of the effect of the thief announcing the Item before the discard though. If the thief announces before he discards, the victim might be able to play a card affecting the Item.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 10:39 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Target of theft

Of course, the above is completely irrelevant, since I've already given the official answer.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 01:52 PM   #5
evikour
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Greece
Default Re: Target of theft

Thank you for your answer!
The only thing I didn't understand is the Curse part..At which point exactly is the playing of a Curse forbidden? When the object changes ownership, can't anyone play a curse on the thief to make him lose a small object for example?
evikour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 02:06 PM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Target of theft

Yes. I'm saying you can't Curse *yourself* and discard the object the Thief was trying to steal once the Thief has successfully rolled to steal it.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.